Leave a comment

Time, Promises, and Simple Prayer

ClocksOctober 26, 2016 – Time

Time, what is it? 60 seconds per minute, 60 minutes per hour, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, 10 years in a decade and 100 hundred years in a century? We live in such a quick moving world today that sometimes it seems like time just slips away. As you start getting older, you start thinking about time. How much time you wasted, how much time you have now, and how much time you have left often runs through your mind.

When I was younger I was not a good steward of my time. I was always on time for work or appointments, but other than that I never put much value on it. At the time it was the furthest thing from my mind because there was just too much going on.

Today, sitting in the office, I thought about time again, but in a different way. I thought about how I never got to spend much time with my sisters and my mom because we were sent off to foster homes. I was around my mom for only about 12 years, 7 before we went into the foster homes and only 5 when we came back home. After that they moved away to Mexico and I never saw her again.

I think about the time I didn’t get to spend with my half sister or half brother because they were born shortly before I left home and went to Mexico with my parents after I graduated high school. I think about the time God allowed me with Ken before he took him home, and recently I was thinking about the time I haven’t spent with my older sister. She is in the hospital with Pneumonia, and presently they aren’t sure if she will make it.

Time slips by quickly, you never know when it will end, but today I am thankful for the time that God has given me and I do plan to use it more wisely.

bibleOctober 27, 2016 – Promises

Almost everyone makes promises, and for the most part they usually make good on them, but there can always be those certain times when outside interference keeps you from keeping a promise. Most people don’t make promises unless they mean it from their heart and will do their best to fulfill them, but there are those who make promises they never intend on keeping.

I don’t like to make promises, because too many times something, some outside interference has kept me from keeping some of them. I will always do the best I can, and I am quick to let people know that, but as a general rule, I don’t make promises unless I know for certain nothing can interfere with me keeping them.

There is one who has made promises, who always keeps them, has always kept them, no matter what. He promises us salvation, forgiveness of sins, protection, healing and so much more. I know that some people think he breaks his promises because they aren’t healed, or something they prayed for hasn’t come to pass, but the promises he has made are not always for this lifetime. Many of them are for eternity when we pass from earth to heaven. One example is his promise to heal. It was pointed out to me by a non-christian that he kept this promise when Ken passed away, because he did heal him, he gave him an incorruptible eternal body.

Today I am thankful for his promises, the ones he has shown me here and the promises he has made for my eternal life.

older woman prayingOctober 28, 2016 – Simple Prayer

When I was a “young” Christian, when everything was new to me, I used to hear people pray in church and think, I could never pray like they did. Anyone could learn to say the “Our Father” prayer, but it seemed that they all sounded so eloquent in their style. They knew when to say “Thee” and “Thou” and it just seemed to overwhelm me.

A very wise pastor once said, “if you aren’t sure how to pray, picture Jesus sitting in a chair by your bed, like a friend or relative would, and talk to him as you would them”. This made a whole lot more sense to me and that is how I started praying. I still have these conversations with him all through the day and at night before I close my eyes.

I am a researcher, that is what I did for a living for many years for a company out of Florida. I’m not a medical or scientific researcher. I am an information researcher and even though I don’t work anymore, I still do a lot of research. As Ken used to say “your like a little robot that always needs input.” So I did some research on the bible and found out that all the “Thees and Thous” were not in the original writings. They were inserted when the Kings James Bible was put together because that is how the people were speaking at that time.

If you take those words out, insert you, they, them, I, me and so forth, the bible is much easier to understand and much easier to read. I know there will be people who disagree with me, but all they have to do is a little research. So if you take these words out of your prayers and use the words you speak today, it is much easier to speak to Jesus. It is a much simpler prayer.

I prayed a simple prayer one time and it saved my life. It is a very easy prayer and anyone can say it in their own words, but in order for this prayer to work, you must mean it from your heart. It is the “sinners” prayers. It goes something like this. Dear Jesus, please forgive me of my sins and come live in my heart, and I will serve you the best that I can. I believe you are the son of God and that you died on the cross for our sins and rose on the third day.” Today I am thankful for simple prayer, I am thankful for that simple prayer that saved my life.

Leave a Reply

