Leave a comment

Losses, Miracles, The Holy Spirit, and Two Months to Go

pathOctober 29, 2016 – Losses

We all suffer losses in our lives. How we handle it determines how we will survive it. I was raised in a poor household so I grew up not expecting a lot of material things. It didn’t matter me then nor does it matter to me now whether I have material wealth or not. This, in itself is a blessing, because my mom never dwelt on what we didn’t have, she taught us to appreciate what we had and I have carried that through all these years.

I have menial jobs that didn’t pay enough to cover the bills, and I’ve had jobs where there was plenty to spare, but it seems that every time I had a better paying job, I spent most of the excess on other people. I stilled budgeted, shopped and thrift stores, looked for sales, but the excess went to help pay someones rent or help them buy food. I never gave it a second thought and I never expected any of them to pay me back.

I’m not patting myself on the back, it is just the way I was raised and the way I chose to be. Sure, there were times in my life when I wished I had just a little bit of money, but I just squared my shoulders, went on with life and used whatever assets and programs I could to make it through.

I’ve seen families lose everything and have to start all over. I’ve been there several times in my life, starting from the bottom up to rebuild. There have been times that everything I owned could be carried in a small garbage bag, and it was usually just a change or two of clothes, and there have been times when it has taken weeks to move because I had collected so much junk over the years.

I’ve lost loved ones to, many of them, but I never once thought I couldn’t live without them. Sure there were lonely times, but I knew where they were and that I would see them again some day. When you are dealing with sorrow, the pain never really goes away, you just learn to live with it. Today I am thankful that the Lord has given me the tools to deal with loss, whether it is something materialistic or the loss of someone close.

miracle_on_34th_streetOctober 30, 2016 – Miracles

I believe in miracles, do you? I’ve seen too many in my life to disbelieve. Many people believe that God doesn’t perform miracles, but I know he does. I can’t count how many times, when I was on the road, that the spirit moved on me to take another route or go back home and then I would see later on the news that there was a horrible accident right where I would have been. I would call that a miracle.

I’ve read too many stories about people being given hours to live, and miraculously they were healed and went home to live productive lives. A friend of mine was poisoned, on purpose, by a person he had thought was a friend, a person, he himself was trying to protect. She even admitted to it but there was no proof so there was no investigation.

He died three times on the way to a bigger hospital. They brought him back twice but was pronounced DOA at the last hospital. He was late told that a woman had shown up when they were getting ready to take him to the morgue, placed her hand on his chest and said “we are not giving up on him” and his body jumped and they went to work trying to stabilize him. No one knew who the woman was, where she came from or where she went when they were working on him. I would call that a miracle, wouldn’t you.

Recently, my older sister was rushed to the hospital with pneumonia. The ER had sent her home the night before, but by morning she could not breath on her own. She was put on a breathing tube and sedated. A few days later, her other organs began having difficulties, first they were calling in a kidney doctor, then they said she was losing blood, possible through her bowel and were giving her transfusions.

I along with other people began sending requests for prayer, and there were hundreds of people praying for her. Two days later they took out the tube, put in a temporary tracheotomy, and shortly she will be moved to a rehab center for 6-8 weeks. I would call that a miracle, wouldn’t you? Today I am thankful that God listens to our prayers and still performs miracles.

heavensNovember 1, 2016 – The Holy Spirit

He taps you on the shoulder and whispers in your ear when you start to think the wrong thoughts. He makes the hair stand up on the back of your neck when you might be going into a precarious or dangerous situation. He nudges your heart when you see someone who needs help and moves you to go to their aid.

He reminds you daily that you serve a risen lord. He comes in the night and whispers in your ear the things you may have said or done during the day that was not pleasing to God so you can repent of them. He gives you insight into conversation and situations so you know who and what you should pray for.

He guides you, offers you protection, inspires you to do what is right, what is merciful, what is kind and he moves you to remember to forgive those who have come against you, whether in thought, word or deed. He is the helper that Jesus promised to send when he ascended to heaven. He is the Holy Spirit . Today I am thankful for the Holy Spirit.

ClocksNovember 2, 2016 – Two Months to Go

I set out on a mission on January 1st, 2016. This mission was to post something to be thankful for each day. My friends and family do this starting on November 1st and up to Thanksgiving Day on Facebook. I have taken part in it, but I thought, wouldn’t be wonderful if we actually could find something to be thankful for something each of our lives.

Don’t assume that since I started this adventure, I haven’t had my problems. There has been problems with finances, health, and emotions. I have lost loved ones in the past year, including my only child, my son to a horrible disease called drug addiction, yet, even on that day, I found something to be thankful for.

I have two months to go to complete this mission, and I am amazed at how truly blessed I am. I am amazed at the strength the Lord has given me, the ways he has shown me that he is always with me, and the prayers he has answered during times of trouble. Today I am thankful he put it on my heart to do this for a whole year, and I hope that my posts have helped others to look for the blessings that are in our everyday lives. I am even considering taking the 366 days of Thanksgiving and putting it in book form, and I have decided that I will go on for the next year, God willing and the creek don’t rise, haha

Leave a Reply

