Leave a comment

Peace, Trust, and Temporary Miracles

Hands holding the worldNovember 3, 2016 – Peace

We all desire peace. We all desire days where nothing goes wrong, where there is no stress, where we feel content and/or happy with everything around us. Unfortunately in this fast paced world we live in, peace often eludes us. Why is that?

I’ve discovered, through the years that peace is where you find it. It’s not out on the street, in a bar, at a friends house or a public venue. It is inside you. You have to draw it out. You have to decide “I’m not going to let this stress me”, “I’m not going to let this make me angry” or “I’m not going to let this take over my day”.

It is hard to sometimes zone out the rest of the world when you need a moments peace. That is when you need to find a way to step away from everything that is going on, take a deep breath, say a little prayer and draw the inner peace to the forefront.

I find my peace often in just saying a prayer, meditating on the good in my life, or sitting somewhere quiet and listening to the silence. Many health “gurus” suggest going somewhere where there is little or no population and doing deep breathing exercises. I’ve done this and sometimes it helps. Sometimes just taking a small ride in the country, sitting on a park bench or sticking my nose in a book has brought me peace at a time when I need it. Today I am thankful for the peace the Lord gives me, the peace that passes all understanding.

common senseNovember 4, 2016 – Trust

I have OCD. Most people have some form of this, some area in their life where they are meticulous about all aspects of that area, an area where they want to make sure they have complete control. Sometimes it might rear it’s head in a work place, at home, or at different events.

I, for one, am OCD about trying to keep the house clean and keep all my bills and papers organized. I usually make the bed as soon as I get out of it, grab the trash bag out of the bathroom container, collect the laundry, straighten up the top of the dressers and close the closet doors before I even leave the bedroom.

But, there are times in our lives where our OCD has no effect. I, for example, cannot control the thoughts and actions of those I love. I can’t make them think or do what is right. I can advise, I can lecture, I can beg and usually to no avail. I also cannot decide who is going to get well, who isn’t going to get sick, and who is going to take care of themselves.

There are so many other circumstances that I cannot control, some that I don’t want to control, and others that are just way too far away to initiate any kind of control. I cannot make people think and act the way I think is best for them, and I cannot control disease and illnesses. These are the times that I have to trust Jesus to take over. Today I am thankful that I can put my trust in Jesus.

Christ of the Ozarks

Christ of the Ozarks, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

November 5, 2016 – Temporary Miracles

I sometimes wonder if God performs temporary miracles. Miracles that are in place for a short time to benefit or help someone. I know this might sound a little silly, but when I think back to some of the miracles I’ve experience, not all of them lasted a life time, they lasted only as long as I needed them to.

When Ken was in the hospital the last time, they were getting ready to send him home with no help. He couldn’t walk anymore but they didn’t offer the use of wheel chair or help to get him in and out of the car and into the house.

He was sick and so tired of struggling. He said he was ready to go. A few days before we had thought he wasn’t coming home. He told me he was waiting to talk to one more person before he left, a pastor that had been a big influence on him when he first started preaching. Through another pastoral couple, the connection was made and that pastor called the night before they were going to release him. The next morning he was gone. I believe that the Lord let him linger for a few more days so he could talk to this one person. A temporary miracle?

I lost my older sister tonight. She had been in the hospital for a few weeks with severe pneumonia. She had been sedated and on a breathing machine most of the time she was there. We didn’t think she was going to make it because she was having kidney problems and losing blood through her bowel. The next thing we knew, her lungs were clear, they took the tube out and were getting ready to transfer her to rehab.

A few nights ago she was out of the sedation and awake, my nephew held the phone to her ear so my younger sister and I could tell her how much we loved her. Tonight she passed away. Did God revive her long enough for us to have that last conversation with her? A Temporary Miracle? Today I am thankful for Gods miracles, even the ones that may seem temporary, I am thankful he allowed me that one last time to tell her how much I loved her.

Leave a Reply

