Leave a comment

Common Sense, Obedience, and Energy

common senseNovember 21,2016 – Common Sense

Common Sense: sound and prudent judgment based on a simple perception of the situation or facts (Merriam-Webster)

I can remember, as a child and teen, that when I would make a foolish mistake my mother would admonish me saying “why don’t you use the common sense you were born with”. Today I have to ask myself if common sense is something you are born with or is it something that your parents teach you, that you learn through trial and error throughout your life.

I can easily say that there were many mistakes in judgment that I made during my life, I still do at times and there will probably be many more before my life is over, but I can say that for every miss-judgment, every wrong decision I have made, I have learned many things that help me in my thoughts and actions today.

I believe that we are born with a sense of right and wrong, but that sense can be dulled or enhanced by our environment as we are growing up. This would account for the people who grow up with hatred and vengeance in their hearts.

Their judgment has probably been clouded because they grew up around dishonesty, hatred, bias, and crime. They have learned from an early age that in order to survive you have to take what you want, whether it belongs to you or not, that you don’t put up with anything from anyone without striking back, not a harsh word or act is to go without consequences. They are raised in a racially biased atmosphere and grow up hating, despising and wanting to get rid of different races and cultures. The parents pass this heritage down to them.

Because of the surroundings they are raised in, they take time to let common sense kick in, they don’t stop to assess a situation, to look at it from different points of thought, to think of what the consequences of the first actions they think to take can have on them, their children, their friends and relatives or the person they are having the difficulty with. Today I am thankful for the common sense the lord has given me and the future common sense he will teach me.

Proverbs 3:21

My son, do not lose sight of these— keep sound wisdom and discretion,

Proverbs 2:6

For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding;

bibleNovember 22, 2016 – Obedience

We are taught from an early age to obey our parents, our grandparents, our teachers and any one else in authority, at least we should be. But in many households today, children run wild, fighting against any of the rules that have been put in place, even verbally and sometimes physically abusing those in authoritative positions.

Parents aren’t allowed ti inflict any kind of physical punishment on their children without being turned into Social Services for child abuse. If they inflict any punishment such as taking something away from the child, or making them do chores or stand in a corner, then they are accused of psychologically damaging their children. The new generation that is coming up in most homes now are little monsters. They learn very quickly how they can use the system to make their parents do what they want instead of the parents controlling them.

If a child gets into a fight, if he experiments with drugs or alcohol, if he skips school, commits a crime or does anything wrong, the parents are immediately blamed and Social Services come in full force threatening to remove the children, threatening the parents with legal actions. It has gone so far now, that when a child misbehaves, in order to keep Social Services at bay, parents are calling the police on their own children.

I grew up learning respect for my parents, grandparents, teachers, police officers and the like, and it wasn’t beat into me, in fact I cannot remember one time that my mother spanked me. She may have smacked my hands when I was little for pulling nick-knacks off shelves or getting into something I shouldn’t have, but the worst punishment I remember is being grounded or stood in the corner.

God punished the Israelites every time they turned away from him. They had to wander in the wilderness for forty years, until the generation that turned against him had died out and a new generation had taken it’s place. He punished the people in Sodom and Gomorrah by destroying all of them. He doesn’t deal out punishments now, not after he sent his son as the final sacrifice, but we will all stand in front of on judgment days and woe to those who have not accepted Jesus because their punishment will be great and eternal. Today I am thankful for the way I was taught obedience because it makes it so much easier to understand the obedience God demands from us.

John 14:23 Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.”

1 Kings 2:3 Observe what the Lord your God requires: Walk in obedience to him, and keep his decrees and commands, his laws and regulations, as written in the Law of Moses. Do this so that you may prosper in all you do and wherever you go.

lighteningNovember 23, 2016 – Energy

Oh to be young again, to be able to run through the woods, jump over fences and downed trees and rocks, to be able to climb to the very top of the highest trees. Oh how I miss the energy of my youth, when the hours would tick away and I would be so full of energy that I could literally stay awake all night, but those days are long gone and will never return.

As I have gotten older, my energy has been greatly subdued. I can longer run through the woods, let alone run at all, and I know I would fall and break my skull if I tried to climb the highest trees. The days of my youthful energy have long ago faded away. Not only can I not stay up forever, but must lay these weary bones done for a nap each day.

I’m not complaining, I am reminiscing about the days when I had all the strength and energy of a young deer. As we get older though, our bodies start wearing out. God did not intend for them to be eternal, not yet, not on this earth. One day I know I will be with Jesus and I won’t feel so old and decrepit. I will have the energy of youth restored, I won’t be sick or depressed or tired, but will have a new glorified body for eternity. For today I am thankful that he does give me the energy each day to accomplish what is needed for that day.

Leave a Reply

