Leave a comment

Gentleness, Holy Spirit, Prayers, and Perseverance

Jesus with children 2November 27, 2016 – Gentleness

Philippiams 4:5 Let your gentle spirit be known to all men. The Lord is near

Ephesians 4:2 with all humility and gentleness, with patience, showing tolerance for one another in love

Life is tough; no one has a perfect life. Stress can make us act in ways we really don’t want to, causing us to be less than kind to others, maybe snapping at someone or raising our voice,, or bumping into someone with saying “excuse me”.

We rush around trying to get every thing done that we need to in one day. For those who work and have children it can be especially stressful, taking the kids to school, working eight hours, picking the kids up, helping with homework, making dinner and getting kids off to bed. In between all of this, there are the after school sports and/or activities, mid-week church bible studies or services, grocery shopping, cleaning house, doing laundry and buying groceries. It is real easy to see how simple it is to run out of patience and keep a gentle attitude.

I’m disabled, I can’t work anymore, but I tell you this, it seems like I am just as busy as I was when I was working, and the first week of the month seems like it is straight from hell. Doctors appointments, grocery shopping, laundry, paying bills, getting gas in the car, and keeping the house in shape can often make this first week the most stressful out of the month, especially when you suffer from multiple physical and medical problems.

I used to be one of those people who would bowl you over in their rush to get things down, and I didn’t have an ounce of gentleness in me. I was rude, inconsiderate, and even at times downright nasty. It wasn’t until I became a Christian and experienced the gentleness of others around me that I soon learned how to be gentle towards others. Today I am thankful for all the gentle people in my life and thankful that each day the Lord reminds me to be gentle toward others.

heavensNovember 28, 2016 – Holy Spirit

Isaiah 30:21Your ears will hear a word behind you, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right or to the left.

John 14:16 And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever

When I first heard about the Holy Spirit, I was a little confused. I understood that he was the helper Jesus was sending us after he ascended to heaven. As I have studied God’s word over the years, I often associate the Holy Spirit with that little voice that tells us “don’t do that”, “don’t say that” and “don’t think that”, but I now believe he is so much more.

Not only was he sent to help us live and act the way Jesus said us too, but I believe in certain instances he is also our protector. I believe he is what makes the hair on the nape of our neck stand up when we might be going into a precarious situation. I believe he is the voice that says “don’t go out today, the roads are too dangerous” or tells us not to visit a certain place or take a certain route.

When I worked as a court agent, I often drove over 250 miles a day, going in and out of different courts, and I can’t count the times that I felt I needed to stay off the roads or take a different route, only to find out that there was a bad accident or a crime happening on the routes or roads I would normally take. Even though I don’t work anymore, there are times that I still get that feeling that says “don’t go out today”, or “don’t go that way”, and even times a little voice telling me “you need to stop here or there” and every time I find out there was a good reason. Today I am thankful for the Holy Spirit.

older woman prayingNovember 29, 2016 – Prayers

I’ve written about prayers before; how they don’t have to be long or eloquent, that you just need to speak with the Lord as you would if you were telling a friend your problems. It doesn’t matter if you say something like “Father God” when you are praying. No one I know talks that way. The best way to communicate with God is on the level of speaking honestly to someone you are facing or is in the room with you.

You don’t have to set a specific time to pray. Pray when you want, pray when you need, pray anywhere at any time. I pray in the morning as soon as my feet hit the floor “thank you for another day”, and often during the day if something is not going right “help me deal with this”, or if something is going good “thank you”. He knows I am talking to him.

But what I want to talk about now is the prayers of others. I can remember times I would go the altar and be prayed over, and I was so moved by some of the people who prayed for me, they were actually brought to tears. We should always pray for each other. Social Media outlets like Facebook have become extended prayer lines over time, depending on who you are friends with. I never have to worry when I put up a prayer request if anyone will respond.

Sometimes the response is overwhelming as it was when my son passed away a few months ago, and my sister passed a month ago. I always know who I can depend on, who will be the first to lift my requests up to God. There are times I feel led to pray for someone, without them asking, without me knowing what I should pray about. I usually send them a private message, because there are those who will not ask for prayer because they don’t want to burden anyone. I say “burden me”, ask me to pray for you for I certainly will, immediately. Today I am thankful for the prayers of so many loved ones, family and friends.

awardNovember 30, 2016 – Perseverance

Never, never, never give in!”
Winston S. Churchill

January 1, 2016 I started on a journey to find something to be thankful for each day. I put up a challenge for others to join in, but sadly no seemed to be able to find the time or the interest, however I have persevered in this attempt.

I may not get the articles up every day, because like everyone else I sometimes find myself run ragged, but I do list them on a small tablet next to my computer. I know that there are some that are repeated, but each time I find a different reason to be thankful for those same ones. I have to admit, that it has not been as easy as I thought, because, of course, Satan tried every trick in the book to make me quite.

He threw sorrow, depression, illness, financial difficulties and so much more at me, sometimes on a daily basis. There were not many weeks that something didn’t go wrong. Multiple ER visits for Rich, different diseases and illnesses showing up causing more doctors appointments with multiple doctors, and days of depression and sorrow so bad that it was all I could do to get up out of the bed. But, I continued and I have almost reached my goal. In one more month I will have found something to be thankful for 366 days in a row. Today I am thankful that the lord gave me the perseverance to stick with this journey. I can assuredly say that it has opened my eyes to just how blessed I am

Leave a Reply

