Leave a comment

 

Hands holding the worldDecember 7, 2016 – Waiting on God

Isaiah 40:31 But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

Years ago, I was the most impatient person I knew. When something needed to be done, it had to be done right away. If I was caught in line at a store, I would fuss and fume because it was taking so long, or if I was on hold on the phone, I can’t even describe my attitude.

I had no time for other peoples problems. I though that no one could possible be in a worse position than I was. I was being controlled by another individual and my impatience wasn’t because I was in a hurry, myself, but because they were and the consequences of not accomplishing what was necessary as quick as possible could be brutal.

For over a year after I made my escape from this person, my attitude remained pretty much the same because I had been conditioned to do so. When I started attending Church and gave my life over to Jesus there was an overnight change, at least that is what I have been told.

Don’t get me wrong, I do sometimes get frustrated by delays but I just take a deep breath, say a little prayer and wait. I didn’t have to practice this, it just suddenly became normal for me to do. While I don’t show my impatience with someone or something, I hold it inside and just accept that not everything works as fast as I would like it to do.

I think the hardest test of my patience is waiting on God. He acts when and how he wants. There have been times that I have waited years for him to answer one prayer, while some he answers immediately. What I can say is when he does answer, he does it in such awesome ways that the wait is well worth it. Today I am thankful that I have learned to wait on God.

sad-smileyDecember 8, 2016 – Confusion

1 Peter 5:7 Casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.

We all get confused at times. It is not out of the norm for me to walk into a room and forget why I went in there, and heaven help me if I get up to do something, answer a question, or answer the phone while working on something, because when I sit down again, I am confused about what I was doing before.

I am confused about this world we live in. I don’t understand the wars in the middle east, how other human beings can commit the atrocities they do, murdering, raping, kidnapping, executing people; using innocent people as shields and tearing down historical sites, and for what? A Holy war? No I think of it more as a war Satan instigated.

Politics totally confuse me. I don’t believe we have had honest government officials for many years. Everyone who takes office makes promises so people will vote for them, but not many follow through after they are elected. They have their own agenda.

I am also confused by the crimes in this nation. What right does a person have to abuse a child, kidnap a woman and rape her, hold her hostage and torture her. Who gave anyone the right to steal, beat up elderly people, commit fraudulent acts or burn down neighborhoods, while our police forces stand idly by with their hands literally tied behind their backs, being told to do nothing.

There are a few things, though that I am not confused about. There is no confusion about Jesus dying for our sins, being the final sacrifice. There is no confusion about what our reward will be when we are faithful to him and his teachings. I have no confusion about his ability to forgive sins, be merciful, preform miracles or protect us from ourselves and others. Today I am thankful that there is no confusion about my God.

turtle speed limitDecember 9, 2016 – Frustration

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Do you ever get frustrated? Sometimes I do, especially on days when I feel clumsy, or when I am working on a project and keep dropping things. I get frustrated when the internet doesn’t work right or my computer freezes up. I get frustrated when my fingers don’t want to hit the right key, or we have a day where there is just too much to do and not enough time to do it.

I’ve learned over the years that frustration is normal. It is a part of the human make-up. I have also found that if you can learn to be patient, understand that not everything is perfect, not everything will always go your way, then frustration ceases to exist.

When I am in pain from the RA or migraines, I find that I can get frustrated that much more easily. I know that this is true for many people who have to deal with illnesses, disease, and disabilities everywhere. Those of us in those situations get frustrated when we can’t do the things that were once normal for us to do.

I talk to Jesus all day long. I don’t just say a prayer in the morning or one at night. I don’t just pray over my food or just on Sundays. I learned a long time ago that I can talk to him at any time, anywhere, under any circumstances. He doesn’t take a day off and he doesn’t take a nap or coffee break. He is always by my side.

I especially have some lengthy conversations with him when I find myself getting frustrated, and he speaks to me, calms me down, shows me that these are just little, aggravating circumstances that are not worth getting frustrated over.

So when the computer freezes up, I walk away and go do something else. If I have the “dropsies” on a certain day, I just pick things up and go on about what I was doing. If I am in pain, I make time to relax and don’t try to schedule more than I am capable of doing. Today I am thankful for Jesus teaching me how to handle my frustrations.

Leave a Reply

