1 Comment

Pay it Forward, Unexpected Blessings, People Who Care and Sincerity

awardDecember 10, 2016 – Pay it Forward

When I moved to this small, rural town, I was completely starting over. I had a job and a company car, but other than that all I had were my clothes, stuffed in large, black garbage bags and my computer and printer for work. I brought no furniture, a few blankets and pillows, no dishes, no pots and pans, absolutely nothing to set up house keeping.

My step father had gotten here a few days before me. He had triple by-pass surgery while on his way to Mexico and they would not release him unless he had someone to go stay with. We stayed at my sisters for a week until I found us an apartment, and moved in with what I had with me, two blow up mattresses and a cooler.

I hadn’t lived in a small town for many years and had forgotten how they pull together to help others. Within weeks I found a couch and coffee table on my porch, a kitchen table and chairs, pots, pans, dishes and so much more. I found a stove and refrigerator for 25.00 each, and week by week started picking up items we needed.

I made enough money back then to get whatever I needed when I needed it. I was amazed at the way everyone came together to help us get established, and I have never forgotten what these friends, family and strangers have done for me. Now I am poor, living on a measly amount from disability. Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining, God has seen to it that I have more than I need. I never go without.

I read these stories on our local Roses and Road Apples Pages about people driving through McDonald’s only to find that the person behind them had paid for their food, so they, of course paid it forward, and paid for the person in front of them the next time they went there.

I have seen this little town pull together to collect monies for funeral expenses, families that have lost their homes, children and the elderly and have often wished that there was some way for me to “pay it forward” for all the help I received.

Recently a man started staying in the house next to mom. She talked to him and found out a family member had kicked him out of the home, without allowing him to take anything with him. He was working for the guy who owned the house, so he was letting him stay there while he worked on the house. We quickly put together some things to take to him, pillows and a blanket, a towel, washrag and body wash, pots and pans and dishes, and a few canned goods, and of a course a bible.

He is a Christian, so we found out when we went to deliver the stuff. And he was giving God the praise for the help we brought to him. It was wonderful to hear him sounding so positive and happy in the Lord, and it felt great to be able to help someone else out. Today I am thankful that God gave us a chance to “pay it forward”

Hands holding the worldDecember 11, 2016 – Unexpected Blessings

Too many people become obsessed with the negativity in their lives. If they would simply start making a list of the good and bad, they would soon discover that the good greatly outweighs the bad. I know. I’ve done it, and I’ve done with this blog site too. I made it my goal to show that there was something in my life to be thankful for everyday and I have shared it with many others in hopes that some of them will begin to see the good in their lives.

Blessings come in many different sizes, from huge down to tiny. Some of them come from other people or sources. Some of them we pray for and others are unexpected. I found that counting my blessings became easier and easier day by day as I started this journey. The list of things to be thankful for is very long and the list of negativity has almost completely disappeared.

I enjoy my blessings, I am thankful for everyone. The big ones, the answered ones make a big impact on my life, but I enjoy the unexpected ones just as much because they show me that God is always thinking of me, always looking a head to what I might want or what I might need. Today I am thankful for all my blessings and especially the unexpected ones.

loveDecember 12, 2016 – People Who Care

There have been times in my life where I lived with and around some very cold people. People who did not care about me, but worse than that, didn’t care about their own families. I learned to harden my heart around people like this because it was the only way I could survive. I actually came to believe at one time that the whole world was nothing but cold, calculating, uncaring people.

Then I met Jesus. Then I accepted him as my Savior, as my lord and as my friend and he opened a door through which many caring people came rushing through. I found a whole new world full of loving, caring individuals that I, at one time, did not think existed.

Today I have loving family and friends around me. Even when I go to the doctor, the ER, the store or just walk down the street, I will run into innumerable people who genuinely care about me. Today I am thankful for all the caring people the Lord has put in my life.

Jesus with children 2December 13, 2016 – Sincerity

Sincerity: The quality or condition of being sincere; genuineness, honesty, and freedom from duplicity.

I haven’t had a whole lot of “sincere” people in my life. Sadly many of my past friends and even some of my family members didn’t know the meaning of the word “sincerity”. I’ve been lied to, manipulated, used and abused by many people in my life.

Some of this was my fault for trying to be too helpful. Too many times I opened myself up to these actions by doing too much for people. They, in turn took advantage of that fact and used my willingness to help to their own advantage.

I can’t name the number of times or the people who lied to me in the past, who told me one thing to my face, doing it in what seemed a sincere nature and then did they opposite of what they said. I feel sorry for people like that, because in the end they will end up with no friends and their family members will be very wary of believing anything they say or do.

But, the past is the past and today my life is full of sincere people, people who mean what they say, do what they say and truly care about others. My neighbors, my friends around town, at the store and at the hospital are all sincere people. I do not worry about being lied to, used or abused by them. Today I am thankful that the Lord has put people in my life who actually know and practice “sincerity”

One comment on “Pay it Forward, Unexpected Blessings, People Who Care and Sincerity

  1. very uplifting and inspirational! thanks!

Leave a Reply

