Leave a comment

Hallelujah, God isn’t Finished with Me Yet, Keeping Christ in Christmas

Christ of the Ozarks

Christ of the Ozarks, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

December 20, 2016 – Hallelujah

There is a video that has gone viral. It is of a 10 year old girl singing a beautiful rendition of Hallelujah. I listened to it twice and brought tears to my eyes. Her voice is so beautiful and she just stands there and sings it. She doesn’t make a lot of motions with her hands, she doesn’t make a lot of facial expressions like some people do when they have been coached beforehand.

This child suffers from a form of Autism and ADHD. Normally she is very shy and quiet, keeping mainly to herself, but they say she opens up when it comes to singing. Noah was a drunk, Jacob was a deceiver, Samson was a womanizer, Jonah ran from God, Paul persecuted Christians, and the list goes on and on.

All through the bible you see that god used cowards, criminals, prostitutes, liars, thieves and the list goes on and on, to help spread his word and carry on the work of the Lord. God has a plan for everyone but he doesn’t always tell us what it is. Some people are called to be preachers, some are called to be teachers and some are called to be servants. He can use a person just to say the right word to the right person at the right time that might change their life.

He can use a person to do one deed of kindness to touch the heart of a person he has big plans for. In this instant he chose a young girl with communication problems to communicate something beautiful, something meaningful to thousands of people. Today I am thankful for his use of this precious child singing Hallelujah.

 

laughterDecember 21, 2016 – God isn’t Finished with Me Yet

When I die, I don’t want people to mourn over me, I want them to celebrate because I will be with Jesus. Only my body will pass away but my soul, my heart will live on eternally with the Christ, on earth during the millennium and in heaven forever after that.

I am not anyone special, I am not a perfect Christian, nor will I ever be. I am a work in progress, a work that will never be finished until the day I join my savior in everlasting life. I have done nothing to deserve this. I have not earned it through doing good deeds, performing rituals of praise or sacrifice or following a long set of rules.

This is a gift from Jesus because I accepted him as my savior, because I love him, because I follow his teachings and try to live as he has instructed us, showing the most important thing I can to as many as I can, “Love.” I try to treat others as I want to be treated. I try to keep the right thoughts in my head and speak the right things and the right times, but I will fail. Over and over again I will fail because none of us can ever reach perfection.

We are all a work in progress. God is always working on us, directing us, scolding us, reprimanding us and blessing us. No matter how hard we try, we will never reach that pinnacle of perfection for there is only one who is or ever has been perfect, Jesus. But we have hope in him. We have the promise of eternal life in him. Today I am thankful that God isn’t finished with me yet.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERADecember 22, 2016 – Keeping Christ in Christmas

Dictionary.com defines political correctness as being “marked by or adhering to a typically progressive orthodoxy on issues involving especially ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, or ecology.” In other words, being politically correct means you never say or do anything that might irritate someone, go against their beliefs or hurt their feelings. It also means that you have to clump everyone in one category no matter what their belief system, ethnicity, or life style is.

While religious freedom was one of the concerns our country was founded on, we opened our country to all who wanted freedom, no matter what their belief system was. This was never intended for others to come over and demand that our nation change its beliefs, laws or rules to adhere to their beliefs or customs, it was simply an invitation to live freely, yet for many years now, more and more groups are demanding that we cater to them.

It’s not just immigrants from other countries. It’s not just those who do not believe in Christ or adhere to Christian values. It includes people from different beliefs, ethnicity and life styles. Everyone wants a bigger slice of the cake than the other person. They want laws changed, they want more benefits, they want historical sites torn down and they want people to speak to or about them in the way they demand.

I live in a small town. People are close here. We are not made up of just one culture, one belief, one ethnicity or one lifestyle. We are a smaller melting pot version of larger cities. Recently we had our Christmas parade and the theme was “Keeping Christ in Christmas.” We didn’t have any riots form non Christians, we didn’t have any threats from different ethnic groups, we didn’t have any undertones of terrorist activity. No one acted like they were getting their toes stepped on.

Everyone who wanted to participate did and the others respected their right to do so. Today I am thankful I don’t live in a politically correct city, but one that respects all those who gather and isn’t afraid to speak out on “Keeping Christ in Christmas”.

 

Leave a Reply

