Leave a comment

New Year’s Resolutions, Looking Forward, and One More Year

New-Years-EveJanuary 1, 2017 – New Years Resolutions

So it’s the first day of a new year. The old year with all of it’s blessings, all of its issues and all of it’s sorrows has passed and we now start anew. Many celebrations were had last night. Many people stayed up until midnight to cheerfully bring in the New Year. Many people have made New Years resolutions. Some will try to keep them, some have already forgotten what they were as soon as the hangover was gone and some will actually keep their resolutions.

Yes, for the most part, I made New Years resolutions every year, but very rarely was I able to keep them all. Many of them might have seemed ridiculous and others were really quite simple. But, what I have noticed over the years that I have been a Christian, is when you voice a New Years resolution, you are setting yourself up for failure in the eyes of your loved ones and friends, and they, in turn are setting themselves up as failures in your eyes. To many it will seem that none of you meant them, that none of you really wanted a change, or that many of you just didn’t have the will or time to see them through.

I quit making New Years resolutions years ago. I’ve learned that making long, future plans does not work well and when you make them public, there is one other that hears them and will do whatever they can to make you fail. Satan uses what we say against us in every way that he can. He will depress us, he will put mountains and valleys in our way, and he will use every evil trick he can think of, anything to shake our faith in God. No, I don’t make New Years Resolutions, I just strive to do better each day.

Yes, I look back at the areas I failed in, the areas that need more work, but since we really can only live one day at a time with any certainty, it is more important to make each day count, to work each day on the areas that I know I need to work on, and to stay in constant communication with my Lord each and every day. Today I am thankful that he has taught me to only concern myself with the present instead of stressing myself out over the future. Happy 2017 to all of you, may the lord bless you in this year of new beginnings.

eyeJanuary 2, 2017 – Looking Forward

We all look forward. Some of us make long term plans and some us just want to make it through another day, but we all wonder what tomorrow might bring. Things can change in the twinkling of an eye. Loved ones die without warning, children turn away from the right path in an instant, without any warning to the parents, natural disasters from weather conditions can happen at any time, and in such a volatile world, war can erupt anywhere.

Still, we look forward. We look forward to better days with our health, more time with our loved ones, advancements in jobs, houses or finances. Some are looking forward to advancing their education, inventing something useful, or finding a cure for disease. We look forward to our children and grand children growing up and becoming responsible adults and we look forward to retirement when we can take the time to do the things we really enjoy.

I am looking forward, hopefully to a year with no more losses, increased health, and more important than anything, a closer walk with God. Today I am thankful that I have something to look forward to.

calendarJanuary 3, 2017 – One More year

One more year has passed and with all the joys in it there were some heavy burdens of sorrow. Death can come knocking on the door at any time, unexpectedly as it did with my sister and son. While I know that they are with Jesus, it is still sad to know I can’t call them anymore, or hope for a visit in the future. In a way I envy them, because they are no longer sick, they are no longer hurting, and they don’t have to see the evil of this world anymore. They are in the hands of Jesus and surrounded with more love than you or I can ever comprehend in our earthly form.

Still, this past year, with it’s ups and downs, wasn’t totally bad. There were good moments, times of love, joy and laughter, and time shared with those we care about and who care about us. Some of us grew in this last year, gained more knowledge about our health, maybe about nature, for sure about mankind and many learned more about God.

Another year is behind us. We have gotten older. Some of us developed more medical problems. Some were blessed financially while others lost their homes. There were births, deaths and illness, but there were family gatherings, celebrations and holidays. Life goes on and another year has come and gone.

Today I am thankful to be have been here for another year. I had my ups and downs. I had my happy times and I had my sorrowful times. I developed more age associated illnesses but learned how to cope with them and work with my doctors or treatments. I lived. I didn’t hide in a box like some with PTSD and depression do, and I didn’t let my illnesses take over my life. I learned new things about my health, I enjoyed the nature in my back yard and my container garden. I read, I watched TV, I listened to preaching and I made new friends, and I got closer to God.

Leave a Reply

