Leave a comment

Truth and Vengeance

bibleJanuary 8, 2017 – The Truth

It is so easy to lie to someone and many people argue that telling little white lies hurts no one. This isn’t true. Everyone has a right to the truth, no matter how hurtful it is. If you feel you have to lie to spare someones feelings, then it is better not to say anything than to tell them an untruth.

There were times in my life I lied, not many, but during a certain period I felt I had to lie to a certain individual to keep from being abused and in the long run it didn’t matter because he already had his mind set on the abuse. There have been times I thought it was better to tell a “white lie” to spare someones feelings, but when it happened to me, it opened my eyes to the fact that there is no excuse for lying.

I have known people who have told so many lies that they have come full circle to bite them in the rear end, and usually when that happens they either don’t remember the lie or deny telling it to begin with. Many times in my life, even after I learned that no kind of lie is acceptable, I’ve been lied to. When it has come full circle and I question the person who told the lie they have done just that.

As the years have gone by, I have learned who I can trust and who I can’t and unfortunately there are not many that I trust to tell me the exact truth. I would rather a person not say anything than to tell me a lie, even if it doesn’t harm me it will still come back to harm them. The Devil is the king of all lies, so if you are in the habit of lying you are serving him. Today I am thankful that I know the one who will never lie, the one who is all about the truth;  Jesus.

John 4: 16 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

loveJanuary 9, 2017 – Vengeance

We all get hurt during our lives. People deceive us, lie to us, spread rumors about us. Many are verbally and physically abusive and it is only human nature to think about getting even with them. The bible tell us that vengeance is the Lords. It tells us that he will eventually take care of those who have hurt or abused us.

For a few years, vengeance was all I could think of. I, at one time, actually thought about different ways to kill a person without getting caught. This person had abused me, physically, mentally and emotionally for almost 20 years. I won’t get into all the gory details, but I was basically held a prisoner with no where to turn for help.

Even after God removed me from the situation, I had thoughts of revenge. I would lay awake in bed and think of different ways I could get even, different ways of hurting this person for what they did to me and my son. I never acted on any of them because there was just no way I could inflict enough pain to make up for the horrors I had been through and I wasn’t willing to put myself in the position of spending my life in jail

As I grew in my walk with God and read his word, it made all the sense in the world to me that he would exact my vengeance on this person in a way that I could never do. All I had to do was let go, give it to him and eventually he would take care of it. I can’t imagine what people like this have waiting for them when they have to stand in front of him on judgment day. I have actually prayed for this person because that is what Jesus instructs us to do. Today I am thankful that I have never taken revenge on anyone because it would have been against the will of the Lord.

Romans 12:17-21

Repay no one evil for evil, but give thought to do what is honorable in the sight of all. If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all. Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” To the contrary, “if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

Leave a Reply

