Leave a comment

Choices and Sisters

libraryJanuary 14, 2017 – Choices

We are given many choices in our life time. We choose who our friends are, what course we want to take in Middle School, High School and College. We choose what kind of work we want to do, where we want to live and even what we want to eat. We choose our doctors, our cars, our reading material and our electronics.

We choose what we want to wear, the style, colors and manufacturer. We choose where to go to church, where to shop at, where to go for entertainment. We make small choices and large choices. Sometimes our choices aren’t so good and other times they are great. We choose to follow Jesus or we choose not to.

But, there are countries where the people have no choices. They are told where to live, where to go to school, what subjects they can take, what job they will work, who they may marry and how many children they are allowed to have, and what clothes they can wear. In some places they are not even given the choice of serving Christ. They serve the government, doing, saying and believing exactly what they are told to.

In other countries, some third world, poor countries, many of the people don’t have many choices either. They stay where ever they can find shelter from the storm. They eat whatever they can scrounge up. They get their medical care from charity organizations or they don’t get it all. And sorry to say, unless a missionary comes their way, they don’t know anything about the Lord. Today I am thankful for all the choices I have.

sistersJanuary 15, 2017 – Sisters

I had three sisters at one time. My older sister Dee passed away in November. She was gone in twenty minutes, after they had said she was getting better, after they said they had cleared the pneumonia up and were going to transfer her to rehab. My youngest sister barely made it to 21 before she was brutally murdered in her home. The murderer has never been caught. Now there are two sisters left. My younger sister Cindy and myself.

Today is Cindy’s birthday. My baby sister has reached the big “60”. I pray she will be with us for many, many more years. I love her with all my heart. I had arguments with my older sister, I barely knew my youngest sister because she was so young when my parents moved to Mexico. I saw her briefly in Arizona about 15 years later. As far as I can remember, Cindy and I have never argued about anything. I guess you could say we are kindred spirits.

Besides my familial sisters, I have had many other sisters. I had two sisters in one of the foster homes, two life-long friends that I have always considered sisters and many church sisters. Each one has a very special place in my life and I have been truly blessed to have them all. Today I am thankful for my sisters, the ones still here and the ones who have passed on.

Leave a Reply

