Leave a comment

Wisdom, Understanding, Being Proactive, and Goals

common senseJanuary 16, 2017 – Wisdom

When we are born into this world, it is without the wisdom we need to survive. As we grow older we learn and depending on our environment, or parents and teachers we may learn many good things or we may learn many bad things. We absorb knowledge all of our lives through researching, reading, listening, watching and experience. It is up to us what we do with that knowledge.

Many people go out into the world with the knowledge of how to use people, how to gain material wealth, friends and prestige by manipulating those around them. Others go out into the world filled with the rage and hate that their parents have passed on to them, and still others go forth with kindness, mercy, forgiveness and love for their fellow man.

As we mature, we know right from wrong and it is entirely up to us how we use the knowledge we gain through our experiences and observing the experiences of others. We develop habits, goals and attitudes depending on how we use the knowledge we have absorbed.

Solomon asked God for the knowledge he needed to govern his people right. He asked God to gives him the wisdom to know right from wrong and to govern his people with honesty and fairness. Sometimes in life we are given opportunities to use the knowledge God allows us to absorb in a manner that will help others, we just have to submit to God’s will. Today I am thankful for the wisdom and knowledge God has allowed me over the years.

2 Chronicles 1: 10 Give me wisdom and knowledge, that I may lead this people, for who is able to govern this great people of yours?”

1 Kings 3: 9 So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong.

libraryJanuary 17, 2016 – Understanding

When I was younger, I didn’t care about understanding God, his word or his ways. I was involved in being a young person, and because I had not been raised in a Godly house, I didn’t understand just how much I would have to rely on him in later years.

When I left home just before I turned 18, all I could think about was getting out from under my step-fathers thumb and making my own decisions, doing what I wanted and living on my own. Don’t get me wrong, I loved my mom, and I know deep in her heart she wanted the best for her children, but she was easily manipulated by my step-father and allowed him full control over us kids.

Because I never learned any basics of life outside the house while I lived at home, I easily made mistakes, getting in with the wrong crowd, and eventually ending up in a relationship where I was treated more like a prisoner than a human being.

As I have grown in my walk with Jesus, I have begun to understand a whole lot of more. I have come to understand why some people act the way they do. I have come to understand why it is so important to be born again, to walk and talk with Jesus and I have come to understand the pain that so many individuals go through.

Through experiences of my own, he has increased my understanding of what it means to be kind, to be forgiving, to be helpful, to show mercy and to love others. Today I am thankful for the ways he has increased my understanding of life and him.

awardJanuary 18, 2017 – Being Proactive

When Kens was ill, I was working a full time job and working in the evenings doing international calls for the company. Every day after work we would go and get a bit to eat and maybe watch the sun set over the ocean. On weekends we might go to the flea markets, take in a movie, or just drive out to Passe Grill. Three times a week we were in Church, Sunday mornings, Sunday nights, and Wednesday bible study. We were also there anytime there was a special event being held.

I didn’t have a lot of time to spend on cleaning house, so I started developing habits to help keep it straightened out so that we would have as much time together as we could. I would make the beds as soon as we got up, throw in a load of laundry to be dried when we got home, vacuumed on Saturday morning before leaving the house, and doing smaller chores as soon as they needed to be done.

I also made sure to keep up on refilling prescription boxes, setting up doctor appointments, paying the bills immediately as they came in. I soon developed similar habits at work. Setting up certain tasks that needed to be attended to right away so when I walked in to the my cubicle, I knew exactly what needed attended to and in what order it needed to be done.

I guess you could say I have a bit of OCD. Even though I don’t work anymore, I have carried all of this over into my retired life. I make the bed as soon as I get up, I turn on the computer, make my cup of coffee, throw in a load of laundry, do my exercises, do my reading and then make breakfast.

Before I got to bed at night, all the dishes are done and the house is straightened up. I use a calendar to mark appointments and on days when there is an afternoon appointment, I prepare dinner ahead of time so it is ready to eat when I get home. Being proactive about everything has made life less overwhelming. Today I am thankful that the Lord urged me to be proactive.

bibleJanuary 19, 2017 – Goals

We set goals for ourselves all the time. It is actually healthy to set goals but make sure you don’t set ones that are impossible to meet. Some of us set a goal to lose weight, to get projects done, to get chores done by a certain time. Some set goals they want to achieve in work, in material gain and wealth while others set goals for their health.

I like to sit down and write a list every so often of goals I would like to meet, but I dare say my list may be different than most. I don’t make goals that are way out of my reach. I don’t set goals to gain material possessions or wealth. I don’t set goals to become well known or famous. Most of my goals have to do with living the way the Lord wants us to.

I have a bad habit of interrupting people when they are talking, and it’s not because I am rude or think what I have to say is more important than what they are saying, it’s simply because I am at an age where thoughts that were in my head a few seconds ago suddenly disappear. I am just trying to get them out before I forget them. So one of the goals I have set for myself is to practice not interrupting people when they are speaking.

I also, at times, have the habit of making negative remarks, especially if someone is rude to me, like when someone cuts me off in traffic or walks in front of me when I’m trying to go through the door at the hospital or store. Now I don’t make rude remarks to these people, but I often say them to myself which, in turn, tends to put me in a negative mood.

So one of my goals is to quit thinking or making these types of remarks, after all, that person that cut me off in traffic, may have been looking the other way, and that person that jumped in front of me at the door may be in a big hurry. Today I am thankful that the Lord is teaching me to make worthwhile goals.

Leave a Reply

