Leave a comment

Comfort and Limits

older woman prayingJanuary 25, 2017 – Comfort

One of the definitions of comfort is: contented or a feeling of well being. Where do you find your comfort? Where is your comfort zone? Is it visiting with family and friends, sitting at the local bar, spending time at home or out in your garden? Is it a feeling of self satisfaction, safety and peace, knowing that everything is running smoothly in your life, everything is as you want it to be?

Every single one of us find comfort in different areas, different things. Every single one of us has a place where we are at peace, we feel safe, protected, and satisfied. Sometimes it is just knowing there is enough money to pay the bills and fill the fridge with food. Sometimes it is knowing that you have loving, caring friends and family around you.

Sadly, the material things that give so many people comfort will one day pass away. Electronics, buildings, vehicles, appliances, anything man made has an expiration date. It will only last so long. The same goes for the people around us, we all have an expiration date. We all leave this world at sometime and either go to heaven or hell.

The only “Real” comfort is to know Jesus. The only “Real” comfort zone is with him beside you. His comfort can surround you, no matter where you are. You don’t have to plug him in, hit a button and turn him on. You don’t have to replace his batteries or have him reupholstered or mended. He is the comfort that is always there, with no expiration date. He will never run down, he will never expire, and he will never run away. Today I am thankful for the comfort I have found in Jesus.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.

bibleJanuary 26, 2017 – Limits

I hope I never come across as a “Miss Know-it-All”. That is never my intentions. I have a curious mind. I am always doing research, always reading, always looking for answers and solutions. I guess I am like the little “robot” that my deceased husband, Ken, described me as. I always need input.

There are a lot of people who ask many questions of me. Many of them have to do with understanding God. What would God think about a certain situation? What would God say about this person or that person? Would God say this is a sin? Why would God allow this or that? These answers I do not have, nor are we meant to have all the answers.

We are not meant to know everything about God, for he is God. We are not meant to understand all the things he allows, all the things he disallows or all the things he does. He may not always clue us in on why something happened, but he will supply us with the strength, the fortitude and the necessary tools to deal with it. He will give us the peace and love we need when we need it most.

We all have a limit to what we can do, what we can understand and what we can go through. It is during those times that Jesus makes his presence known in many ways by giving us the strength, peace and knowledge we need to make it through and then wraps his loving arms around us.

No, I am not the “Miss Know-it-All” and I hope I never present myself that way. I am another human seeking the ways of the Lord as we all should be doing. If you have a question, If I have an answer, I will be more than happy to give it you. I’ll even research it for you, but at my best all I can do is to try to logically look at things and offer possible suggestions to the answer. I have my limits, I am human. I’m not even sure that I would want to know everything. Today I am thankful for my limits, because I know when I reach them, God will step in.

Isaiah 55:8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.

Leave a Reply

