Leave a comment

Redemption and Inheritance

Hands holding the worldFebruary 15, 2017 – Redemption

Redemption is a word you don’t hear much anymore. Redeeming something means to buy or purchase something, to take it off the market. Remember when they used to hand out green stamps at stores, and we would save them to buy something with. We would take them to a redemption center, pick out what we wanted, and pay for it with the stamps.

Boaz redeemed Ruth by buying the land of her deceased husband after giving a closer relative the chance to redeem it first, because in those times when you redeemed a relatives land, you also took his wife to be yours. You redeemed her. Because of this redemption, Ruth and her mother-in-law went from poverty to comfort for the rest of their lives. Ruth bore him a son named Obed, who became the father of Jesse who became the father of David.

Christ redeemed us with his life. He went to the cross to redeem us from our sins. What a high cost to pay for the sins that weren’t even his. He paid the cost for our redemption with his life. Because of his sacrifice, we are forgiven of our sins and will live life eternally with him and the father in a beautiful place called Heaven where there will be no evil, pain, no suffering, no sin, just love.

Today I am thankful for that redemption. I am redeemed.

Job 19:25-27 For I know that my Redeemer lives and he shall stand at last on the earth, and after my skin is destroyed, this I know, That in my flesh I shall see God, whom I shall see for myself and my eyes shall behold and not another, how my heart yearns within me

heavensFebruary 16, 2017 – Inheritance

How we strive to leave an inheritance to our family. We buy all types of life insurance. We strive to keep all of our bills paid up so they will not be burdened with them when we go, and we try to make sure that there is property, belongings and money left to give them something to remember us by, when in fact we should be leaving a non-monetary inheritance to those we love.

What good will money, personal possessions and property amount to in the end. What we should be leaving our loved ones with are good memories, times of happiness and love, and bits of knowledge that will help them make it through the last days of this world.

We should be shouting from the hilltops, writing in letters, sending e-mails, saying it over the phone and posting it in status on social media. Jesus Christ is Lord and if you don’t accept him you have no inheritance .

We all have a great inheritance if we are truly children of God. If we accept Jesus as our savior, we have the greatest inheritance ever. We don’t have an inheritance bought with money, for money will soon vanish. Money, personal possession, property mean nothing once you have left this world for if you know Christ, you will walk on streets of gold.

I have nothing but junk to leave my family when it comes to material wealth, but for all the days of my life I try to make sure they know that I love them, that Jesus loves them, that by accepting him, we will all be together again in a land that is filled with love.

I can’t say that I am perfect, for I am not. I am a sinner, just like anyone else, and I went through a lot of my life believing I had to strive to get that money so I could have jewels, and cars, and property, so I could say,”see what I did, see what I was able to accumulate, see what I have accomplished” for that is what I was led to believe was necessary.

But I know different now, I know that none of that is of any value. What will I leave as an inheritance? The same as I will inherit. The knowledge that Jesus Christ is lord, the value of love, and a what little bit of knowledge God has allowed me to accumulate in my walk with him. Today I am thankful for the inheritance I will have with Jesus, and the inheritance of that sacrifice and love that I can share with others.

Daniel 12: 13 But you, go your way till the end for you shall rest and will arise to your inheritance at the end of the days.

Leave a Reply

