Leave a comment

Catching Up Again

I am not a lazy person and I believe that it is important for me to continue with my articles about being thankful, however it sometimes gets busy around here, especially with two people in the house that have physical and medical issues. Satan would love to see me stop, but I refuse to do what he wants and will continue to do what I believe the Lord wants me to do with this site. So, I am behind, however all the subjects are written down each day and I post them as I can. Here I am catching up again.

Jesus with children 2February 17, 2017 – Comfort

I know I have probably written about this subject before, but as I have said, when I repeat a subject it is because I have found another reason to be thankful for it. Merriam-Webster defines comfort as “to give strength and hope”, but it is often used to describe situations as well as “I am in my comfort zone.

We all have different things in life that comfort us. For some it might be having loving friends and family around, for other it may be having the home they desire, and still for others it may be as simple as having enough money to keep the bills paid.

I take comfort in many areas. I am comforted when there is enough money to keep the bills paid and I take comfort in knowing that there are people around me or love me and care about me. I also take comfort in knowing that I have a decent house to live in, a favorite couch that is comfortable to me, and a bed that is comfortable. I also take comfort in knowing that I have a good doctor and that the medicines he has prescribed to for me are helping me.

But the person I take the most comfort in knowing is Jesus, for he has forgiven my sins, lives in my heart and has promised me eternal life where I will feel no more pain, no more illness and no more sorrow. I am comforted in the fact that I will have an eternal body and will live for eternity surrounded by nothing but love. Today I am thankful for that comfort.

2 Corinthians 1:3 “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort.”

calendarFebruary 18, 2017 – Non-Days

I have several physical and medical problems. I also have emotional problems. I suffer from PTSD and depression and two types of arthritis, two types of respiratory problems and gastric problems as well. My roommate suffers from a rare hereditary disease that, when he has attacks, can be life threatening.

There are days where we might go to several different doctor appointments or spend 4-5 hours in the emergency room. Usually on those days we don’t have time to do anything else. I call these our non-days. We are just learning to accept that on these days, all of our attention needs to be focused on the problems at hand.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I am OCD about trying to keep the house clean, keep the laundry done up and making sure we eat healthy meals. On non-days it is almost impossible to do this so I have to let it go and just accept that I will catch up later. Today I thankful for the non-days because they make me more appreciative of the productive days.

ER -articlesFebruary 19, 2017 – ER Personnel

We spend a lot of time in the emergency room, in fact we consider the people there as family and they likewise consider us friends and family. We are on a first name basis with all of them. They have literally saved Richards life many times because of the attacks he has.

They are always patient, we trade funny and humorous events and jokes. We talk about our family, our home and our town. They are always concerned about how we are doing and we are always interested in whats going on with them.

We chanced to be in the ER again for an attack Richard was having. They brought in a little girl who had a seizure. She was only about four years old. She had been playing hide and seek with her mom when she went into the seizure. I watched as the nurses and doctors went about getting her stabilized and ready to transfer to a children’s hospital. The hospital was sending a helicopter – life flight for her.

They had to give her medicine to stop the seizure, then they had to sedate her and do her breathing for her until they transported. As I watched them working, no one panicking, each person knowing what to get, when to get it and what to do quickly and efficiently, I remembered the last time they had to work on Richard that way.

It’s been over eight years since Richard had an attack that was severe enough to warrant being intubated. In fact it was the month that the new medicine was approved by the FDA. I thought about how efficiently they had taken care of him and I thought of how many times these people had saved his life. As I said a prayer for this little girl and her family I also remembered to thank God for the medicine for Rich. Today I am thankful for the people in our ER who are dedicated to taking care of us and saving lives.

doggieFebruary 20, 2017 – Pain

When I look around at this world, there is no way I could ever believe that it was a scientific or big bang event. The intricacy with which every plant, animal and human works is no mistake of nature. It took a lot of planning, a lot of work to create such a variety of life, each working in it’s own way to keep life going.

A normal heartbeat for us is around 70 beats per minute, for an elephant it is around 27 and for a canary it is 1000, and if all of our blood vessels were laid end to end they would stretch around 60,000 miles. There are over 100 billion nerve cells in our body, Blue whales have twice as many.

Many researchers have concluded that most animals have emotions and feel pain. This can be seen in household pets for sure. Your cat will rub up against you when it wants affection, your dog will bring you toys when it wants to play, and both seem to understand the emotions of their owner. They can sense when you are down, when you are angry and even when you are scared. Above all, they love their owners to the point where they are willing to protect them with their own lives.

As we get older, our bodies start to wear out and we develop painful reminders with muscle diseases and different forms of bone malformations and arthritis. Pain is an indicator that there is something not right that might need to be attended to. Just as your stomach may hurt if you eat something bad or eat too much, so do other pain receptors alert us to other injuries or illnesses. Chest pain may indicate there is something wrong with your heart or lungs. This is not by accident. This is how God created us. These are warning devices he included in our makeup.

Today I am thankful for the pain in my body for alerts me to what is going on and what needs to be attended to.

Psalm 139:13-16

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.

older woman prayingFebruary 21, 2017 – Sorrow

No one likes to feel sad. No one likes sorrow, but it is a big part of our lives. We not only feel sorrow for those who have left before us, but for others going through bad times. We may also feel sorrow over loosing a pet or an item that mean a lot to us.

We may feel sorrowful for family members who are going down the wrong path in life for we know that if they don’t change, we will not meet them again in heaven. We may experience sorrow when someone we know is physically or emotionally hurt.

The other day, in the emergency room, they brought in a small child in critical condition from a seizure. While they worked on her, I stood at the door and watched, watched as the tears streamed down her mothers face, watched as the father stood there silently watching what they were doing to his child, watched as the grandmother sat in a chair close by with her head bowed.

My heart broke, I felt immense sorrow for them, for the trauma they were going through, for the chance that they might lose their child, for the long trip back through recovery she would have if she survived, and for the hardships that family must face during her recovery. As the tears streamed down my face, I reached out to the mother and told her we were praying.

Today I am thankful for sorrow, for, although it isn’t pleasant, I feel that it draws me closer to the Lord when I see just how fragile life can be and how quick it can change.

Matthew 5:4Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted”

Romans 8:18 For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.

Leave a Reply

