Leave a comment

Solutions, “But” Exercises and The Past

libraryFebruary 23, 2017 – Solutions

Over the years, ever since my late 40’s, early 50’s, I realized I had to take my health concerns seriously. It used to be that I would take whatever the doctors gave me until one year, when I was on 28 pills a day, a new doctor ran tests and informed me I was taking medicines for conditions I did not have.

Since then I have done research on conditions and the medications that are prescribed for them. I have learned to ask questions and demand that certain tests be done. Doctors can’t always tell what is wrong with you in a fifteen minute office visit. For the most part, they examine and if nothing raises a red flag, like a fever, exceptionally high or low blood pressure, a red throat or signs of an ear infection, they just treat the symptoms of what they suspect you might have.

I know this for a fact from talking to my own doctor. Now don’t get me wrong, I have a wonderful doctor and all the staff at our clinic and hospital are very dedicated people, but it is the norm to try different treatments until they can narrow down what is wrong. My feet were swelling and the symptoms were like those of gout. Blood tests showed my uric acid level high so it was assumed that I had gout.

I had allergic reactions to all the medicines they tried on me. After doing a few weeks of apple cider vinegar, honey and water, the swelling finally went down, then my big toe got very red and swollen and hurt to just touch. This time I was sent to the ortho doctor who claimed I had turf toe. He increased my anti-inflammatory medication, told me to elevate it, wrap it if that helped and soak it.

The toe cleared up, then both ankles swelled up so bad I could hardly walk. It was about that time I started researching all of the symptoms. When I went back to the doctor, I insisted he run a test for rheumatoid arthritis, check my kidney and liver function and check my thyroid. Low and behold, I had rheumatoid arthritis. I am now being treated for it and the treatment seems to be helping, a lot. Today I am thankful for solutions to problems like these, even though it sometimes takes longer that I would like.

older woman prayingFebruary 24, 2017 – “But” Exercises

Today’s society is more aware of health issues than ever in the past. More people are starting to eat healthier, exercise and keep all of their follow up appointments with their doctors. I was a late bloomer, mainly because, in the past (which we won’t get into right now) I didn’t have time or the means to pay attention to my health. Let it suffice to say I worked long hours most of the time.

In my mid fifties, after I moved away from a ton of stress and bad situations, I started to be aware of the changes my body was going through, and when certain illnesses, diseases and age related maladies started showing up, I became even more aware.

It has been medically proven that emotional and mental health has a large effect on the health of your body. Depression, PTSD, anxiety and stress can play a large role in how healthy you are no matter what kind of health nut you might be. You need to learn to exercise your mind also.

When I started this project of finding something to be thankful for each day, I was inspired to start doing “But” exercises, and no, I don’t mean “Butt” exercises. It isn’t a physical exercise, it is all done in your mind.

It takes effort, but after awhile it becomes habit to do these “But” exercises and they are very simple to do. When a worry, a bad thought, a concern comes to mind, you repeat it and then you add a “But” clause at the end. Example “My feet hurt every morning as soon as they hit the floor “BUT” I woke up today” or “there isn’t much money in the bank until the end of the month “BUT” there is enough food to last until my check comes in”.

Those are just a few samples. Sometimes the subjects of worry that come to mind are more important than these “But” there is always a flip side to the coin. The old saying that “there is a blessing in everything” is true if you just look for it. Today I am thankful for learning to do these “But” exercises.

February 25, 2017 – The Past

awardIt is true that our past can haunt us. It is not unusual during times of stress, depression or during similar situations to remember something unpleasant from the past. I can’t tell you how many times I have thought about things that happened, decisions that I made or were made for me, and what it might have been if things had been different.

I have questioned myself about whether I did all I could in given situations, like how I took care of Ken when he was ill or how I tried to protect mys son when a bad decision I made put us in a precarious situation for a long time.

In a way it is good to reflect on the past. Sometimes you can something good that came out of a bad decision or you can pick out different lessons you learned during the process. While it isn’t healthy to live in the past, and it isn’t wise or healthy to beat yourself up over the things you did wrong so long ago, reflecting insures we won’t make the same mistakes and will take to heart the lessons we learned.

This next month will make a year since my son passed away. It’s not an anniversary that is celebratory, but as I reflect on his past life, I see the good things out numbered the bad. Even though I wasn’t a very good mother, due to the decisions I made on the people involved in our lives, I did the best I could and years later could see my attempts were not futile.

The major things I have learned from the past is that there was nothing I could change at the time, that I have learned many lessons, many of them about humans, the different types, the different actions, and the different mind sets they have. I’ve learned a lot about what to do and what not to do in certain given situations and I have come away with the desire to keep learning something each day. I have also come to realize that my son and I became strong because of the past, we survived. Today I am thankful the Lord has taught me how to look at the past.

Leave a Reply

