Leave a comment

Christ of the Ozarks

Christ of the Ozarks, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

March 7, 2017 – He Will Come

Have you looked around you lately? I don’t mean your home, your work, or your family and friends. I mean society, world wide. Are you aware of all the wars that are going on, all the homelessness and poverty, all the health issues? We live in a country that is in turmoil. People are rioting and protesting because they don’t like the president that was elected and yet no one knows for sure exactly what will happen during his presidency.

We should consider ourselves blessed. People are mugged and raped and murdered in broad daylight on the streets of some cities in Mexico, in the middle east and other areas around the world. People are forced into slavery, into the military and into sex markets around the world and yet so many just turn a blind eye.

Sure, we have our share of crime, but nothing near the atrocities being committed in some of the other countries. We have terrorists, we have bigots, we have racists, we have rioters and looters and thieves and rapists and murderers but it still doesn’t compare to some other countries. We could be so much worse off than we are and yet we still riot, protest and demand that all of our wants and needs be met.

I was never one to really keep abreast of the news around the globe, but since the internet has grown, so many of these stories are seen here that we would never have been able to see before. Before the internet we only knew what made the papers, the television networks or traveled by word of mouth. Today we can see it within second or see it as it is happening.

I have time now to look at all of this, and it literally breaks my heart to see so much destruction, so much loss of human life, so many crimes and atrocities, rapes, murders and so on. If you read the word of God, read the New Testament thoroughly and especially revelation. Everything that is happening today has been foretold, and even though we don’t know the time, the hour or minute or day, we do know that everything is falling into place for the return of Jesus Christ as our King, Lord and Shepherd.

He will come, he return, he will take his own and he will reign on earth and in heaven. He will be coming in the sky at the sound of the trumpet and in Glory to take over his world and take care of his children, and we are his children if we believe in him. In the mean time we sit and wait, spreading his love and gospel as we can and pray for the day that he returns. Today I am thankful that some day he will come.

Luke 21:27 And then shall they see the Son of man coming in a cloud with power and great glory.

lighteningMarch 8, 2017 – Near Misses

We have all had near misses in our lives. Some we know about and others we don’t or we don’t find out until later. I can think of several times in my life that I have had near misses. Sometimes I really believe that God has his hand in these near misses.

I’ve had my share from having a gun aimed at face and the car driving away suddenly to hitting black ice and having all the traffic all of a sudden disappear as I turned completely around in the middle of the freeway. I’ve come away unscathed from almost every near miss in my life.

Recently we had another near miss that we didn’t really know about until a few hours later. There was a pretty bad storm going through with thunder, lightening, hail and rain. While we were at Walmart the city went black. Now, we have had the electricity go down here before, but normally it is different sections and it is back on pretty quick, but this time the whole city was blacked out.

We stood out on the front porch, enjoying the light show and waiting for the lights to come on only to find out that we were just missed by two tornadoes, one to the east and one to the north. The sirens didn’t go off and excuses were made, but we unknowingly were outside when they were suggesting everyone take shelter. Today I am thankful for all the near misses in my life.

Psalm 138:7 Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life; you stretch out your hand against the wrath of my enemies, and your right hand delivers me

possumMarch 9, 2017 – Stubbornness

There is a stubborn streak that runs in my family. Whether it is inherited from my fathers side of the family or my mothers side, it has reared its ugly head at times. I do believe that some of it was learned over the years. I am sure I never learned it from my mother, because I don’t remember ever having temper tantrums on her and I have no recollection of her ever spanking me, but I have always been pretty willful.

I sometimes seem to have this need to prove that I am right, to argue the point to extremes and feeling hurt when I am put in my place over it. I think some of it comes from the abusive relationship I was in for twenty years, because I was never allowed to voice my opinion, I was never allowed to make decisions or talk back. I wasn’t allowed to argue or try to get my point of view voiced, so today I am almost defensive when it comes to wanting to always be right.

Recently that fact was pointed out to me again. I can’t even tell you what the subject was, but I got vehement and defensive, loudly, while trying to get my point across and prove that I was right. It really got to me, and I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about it. I have never been a person who would willingly say something to hurt someone, although I am human and my tongue has been known to override my brain on occasion. Today I am thankful for being shown that my stubborn streak may be getting out of hand.

Deuteronomy 10:16 “So circumcise your heart, and stiffen your neck no longer.”

Leave a Reply

