Leave a comment

Will Power, Presence and Peace

turtle speed limitApril 7, 2017 – Will Power

There are days in every persons life where they don’t feel like doing anything. Sometimes it is struggle to get up and do the basics like clean the house, get the kiddies off to school and head out for your job. It happens to everyone. It may be as simple as a depression episode, or it might just be that you are worn out and didn’t get the rest that you need. This is the normal for most people.

There is another group of people who find it a struggle to crawl out of bed because of medical issues. Muscular or skeletal diseases can cause deformities and excruciating pain. Couple that with PTSD or the depression that comes with dealing with their disease and taking a multitude of prescription drugs and it is extremely hard for them to cope with just waking up and doing the basics like making the bed or fixing breakfast.

There is a third group of people who don’t get out of bed on their own. They have crippling diseases and their bodies, their extremities just don’t work right anymore. I can only imagine the humiliation, the depression, the PTSD and the pain that they go through, having to depend on someone to do everything for them.

I have a few medical problems, some are hereditary, some are caused from events in the past and others are age related, but I haven’t gotten to that point where I must rely on someone to do everything for me. Some days it is a struggle to make it through the day. Either the pain is at it’s highest or the depression has once again settled in.

It is on those days that I need a truck load of will power to make it through. It is on those days that I force myself to do things as normally as possible. I firmly believe by forcing myself to function as normally as possible I can stave off the time when I will need someone to take care of me. Today I am thankful that the lord made me a strong willed person for I depend on that will power much more now than I have had to early on in life.

Hands holding the worldApril 8, 2017 – Presence

I love to stand out on the back deck and look back out over my back yard. Well I did until recently. The house behind us had seven trees along the fence line, and when they were all leafy and in full bloom, they blocked the house off from each other and you felt like you were standing out in the woods.

Recently another elderly couple moved in there. For some unknown reason, they decided to cut down four of the trees, leaving wide gaps that make their house and our house fully visible to each other. Now don’t get me wrong, I really have nothing against them, I don’t know them, but this is the area where I like to keep to myself. We have had a few short conversations and they seem to want to stay to themselves also, which is fine with me. I’m not a snob, I just have my quiet areas where I can close everything out, and home is one of those places.

I don’t go out back when the neighbors are out because I simply don’t like intrusion in my private life. I get along fine with the neighbors on either side, for they like their privacy also. We wave to each other, say hello and go on about our business. I like my quiet time and my quiet space. It is during those times, when I am able to close out the outside world that I can feel the very presence of the Lord.

Although I was upset at first about the trees being cut down, I have come to realize and remember that God is everywhere. I don’t need a treeline present to feel his presence. He is with me all the time, all I have to do is be quiet and still and let his presence fill me. Today I am thankful that he has shown me his presence is always around me, tree line or not.

missouri riverApril 9, 2017 – Peace

There is a hymn that goes like this “Far away in the depths of my spirit tonight
Rolls a melody sweeter than psalm; In celestial-like strains it unceasingly falls
O’er my soul like an infinite calm. Peace, peace, wonderful peace, Coming down from the Father above! Sweep over my spirit forever, I pray In fathomless billows of love”

I have always loved this song. It is such a great reminder that he will give us peace when we need it, when we desire it, when we ask for it and when it is his will. That wonderful peace that fills your heart, goes deep into your very soul and brings such a calmness to your whole being, physically and emotionally.

God did not promise us euphoria here on earth. Jesus said there would be trials and tribulations. He said we, Christians, would be persecuted, even unto death. Because we live in such a violent, immoral, turbulent world, the atrocities, the crimes, the injustices fall on those who are standing innocently by.

Your life can be filled with agony not of your own making, and it is during those times that Satan rejoices. It is during times of sorrow, tribulation and temptation that he is the busiest, trying hard to get Gods people away from him, so when this peace descends he gets very angry and tries all the more harder to destroy us. Today I am so thankful for the “wonderful peace, coming down from the father above.”

Leave a Reply

