Leave a comment

Changes, Progress and Growth

the four seasonsApril 19, 2017 – Changes

Every person will go through many changes in their life. We change from a baby into a toddler, from a toddler to a child, from a child to a preteen, to a teen, to a young adult, to middle age and then to a senior citizen. But we change in many other ways to as we grow older.

Depending on our circumstances, we may change from being poor to having an adequate amount of money or being rich, or we may be born rich and end up changing to a poverty level. We change our ideas, our clothes, our taste in furniture, our cars and even, sometimes our jobs.

We may change our way of thinking and acting from being bitter, angry and cold to being happy, warm and kind or just the reverse. We may at times change our beliefs as well. Maybe you were raised around those who believe in magic, spells, good luck and back luck, or maybe you grew up believing a bunch of old wives tales or old tales of spirits, ghosts and goblins.

I’ve gone through many of the above changes at different times in my life. I fully believe that there is evil out there among us, I have seen it, I have experienced it. That evil had a strong influence on changing my beliefs, because if there was evil, there was also good. The biggest and best change I ever made was accepting Jesus as my savior, my lord and king, my best friend. Today I am thankful for the good changes in my life.

John 14:6 – Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

stairsApril 20, 2017 – Progress

I love it when I actually make some progress on something I am doing. Whether it is Spring cleaning, working on my plants or just getting some simple things done around the house, it just feels wonderful to step back and see the progress I have made.

I was the same way when I worked. I was an over achiever in school and at every job I held. I guess you could say that my OCD showed through and sometimes that could create a problem with me with people who didn’t work the same way that I did.

I have watched the progress of others over the years. I have watched my grandchildren progress from the time they were born, and even though I am far away from them now, they still share their progress with me. I have watched most of them growing up and forming good goals as they go.

Sadly to say that most of them have been through some tough times, being separated from family and intervals and being in foster care and group homes that were, for the most part, out to make money instead of really caring for the children. So when I see them progressing toward their goals, it makes me an even prouder grandmother because of the obstacles they are overcoming.

I think the greatest progress in my life, ins the continuing progress in my walk with Christ. Everyday I talk to him, and every day he shows me all the different things he has done for me, now and in the past, and hope for the future. Today I am most thankful for the progress he has helped me achieve in getting to know him better.

1 Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.

hen and chicksApril 21, 2017 – Growth

We grow from the day of our conception. We grow in our mothers womb until it is time for us to come and meet the world. We grow from infancy to childhood, to teenage mania to young adult to middle age and on to old. We grow in many ways. We will get taller, our hair will grow, sometimes changing color as we get older. Our organ grow, we may get heavier or if we were a chubby child we may get slimmer, but we grow mentally and spiritually as well.

The schools we attend during our major learning years cannot teach us everything we need to know. Our parents can’t teach us everything, and if you are raised in a church, the pastor, teachers and other church leaders cannot teach us everything.

We grow through life experiences and some of the lessons we learn are very hard, but we learn. What we take from our experiences is totally up to us. Some people who grew up in poverty, don’t see themselves going any further than their parents did and others will strike out, work hard and become millionaire.

Some people, raised around domestic violence, crime, drugs and alcohol follow along the path they have seen their elders go, ending up bitter, hateful, violent and abusive. Many will end up in relationships where they are abused or they abuse someone else, others will go on to harsher drugs and more alcohol use than there parents, and still more will find a way to dig out of the cesspool they lived in as children.

I’ve been through a lot in my life, some good, some bad, some very bad and so just so-so. I’ve can easily see the lessons I have learned during my life time, but I have to admit that my eyes weren’t open to the right ones until I was 43, when I accepted Jesus as my savior. From that time on, he has shown me the right lessons I needed to draw from my experiences.

He is the reason I am still alive, the reason I am strong, the reason I go on. I have grown so much more since I accepted him than I ever did in my life before. Today I am thankful for that growth.

2 Peter 3:18 – But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and for ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

