Leave a comment

Soar Like and Eagle, Replanting and Night Skies

eagleMay 13, 2017 – Soar like an Eagle

I got the phone call at 5:30 in the morning. They said Ken had stopped breathing and they were trying to revive him. I knew in my heart that he was gone. Sad as it was, it was what I had prayed for the night before when I left the hospital. I prayed that God would heal him or take him home. He answered that prayer by doing both, taking him home and giving him a new glorified body that would never hurt or be sick again.

I walked into the room only three minutes after they called. The hospital was less than half a mile away and yes I was speeding to get there, hoping maybe they resuscitated him long enough for me to say goodbye. They were just calling the time of death when I entered the room.

There was stuff thrown all around and the cart was still there with the paddles. They quietly walked out to give me some time. I walked to the head of the bed and looked into his blank eyes, hoping to see just some kind of spark in them. He was gone, but I could still feel his soul in the room. Quietly I reached up and closed his eyes, kissed him on the forehead straightened his covers, said a prayer for him, and told him “Now you can soar like an Eagle”.

Ken had often said that he wanted to soar like an eagle. I think it was his way of saying he wanted to be free of the shackles of this life. He wanted to be free of illness, of pain, of depression and of sorrow. He wanted to be free to be with the lord.

Jesus promised us we would be free of all the problems we face on this earth, and Ken believed that for a few moments in time, you could look back at your loved ones before you soared up to heaven. He also believed that at times the Lord might allow you to watch over certain members to make sure they would be alright. He told his best friend he was going to watch over me. Today I am thankful that one day I may soar like an eagle.

bucket of flowersMay 14, 2017 – Replanting

I always wanted to grow plants. I dreamed often of having a small farm with a good garden and just a few acres for a few chickens, a cow, a horse, a few dogs and cats and any other wildlife that wanted to join in. I even thought about having a goat or two because they eat garbage but I would worry about them getting into my garden.

As life would have it, that was just another one on the list of dreams I had that didn’t come true. Since I moved to this rural town, I have had an opportunity to try and grow a few things. I have managed to keep several house plants alive for a few years and had great success with my tomatoes last year, especially the Husky’s.

I like to browse the garden center at Stoplight Market and Walmart, but sometimes the prices for the herbs and vegetables I want are just too high. I spent five dollars on a lavender plant with intention of starting more from it, but it started dying out as soon as it was replanted. There is still a small part that is trying to hang out.

Mostly I look in the sale aisle at Walmart, choosing and picking my summer flowers from those they have greatly discounted or are getting ready to throw them out. I bring this home, trim off the dead parts, replant them, talk to them, baby them and have had great success in them returning to health.

Isn’t that somewhat the way our Lord works? When we are down and out, when we are sick and tired, when we think we have reached our limits, he replants his promises in our hearts and minds. Today I am thankful that when I am wilted and worn, he replants me with his promises and answered prayers.

Isaiah 41:10 Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

starry skiesMay 15, 2017- Night Skies

Have you ever stood out on a porch or deck and watched the night skies. As the sky gets darker, the stars shine brighter and more and more of them them to just pop into view. Maybe you will see a falling star or a night bird or bat flies by, interrupting your view for just a few seconds, reminding you that life goes on after many are sound asleep.

I’ve always loved to sit out on a summer night and stare at the night sky. I even, often times, step out on the back deck, just before I head to bed and look at all the brilliant stars, taking in the fact that they are so far away, reminding me just how vast the heavens are.

With a sky so beautiful, so powerful yet so serene, how can anyone thing this is something that just came into being or was already there. I don’t believe for one instant that it wasn’t all created by that mighty spirit, that mighty creator that we call God.

Science, for many years, has searched for information on how the heavens, earth and mankind came to be, but they are always looking for a reason, other than our God. I don’t believe we evolved from fish or apes or that the “Bing Bang Theory” many are using for their explanation on how how the heavens and earth appeared.

There are nights when all this beauty is hidden by the dark clouds of thunderstorms and rain, but even then, the power of the lightening strikes shows you just how awesome is the power of God. Even in a snow storm or thunderstorm, there is beauty and power to be found in the night skies. Today I am thankful for the night skies for they remind of the great power of our Lord.

Psalm 19:1

To the choirmaster. A Psalm of David. The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.

Leave a Reply

