Leave a comment

Quiet, Home, and Getting Older

old front porchJune 2, 2017 – Quiet

For the most of my adult life I lived in noisy cities. Cleveland was the worst. It didn’t matter where you lived, there were always cars shooting up and down the streets, honking horns, people fighting and yelling and sirens going off all hours of the night.

I lived in some of the suburbs a few times, but unless you move way far out, you still got basically the same noise. I had to live closer to the city because of work, but the best job I ever had was when I got the company in Florida to transfer back to Cleveland as a field agent.

Several of the courts I covered were in smaller cities, rural towns in different counties. I found back ways to get to them so I could drive through the countryside, taking the scenic routes on country highways past the farms and Amish areas, enjoying the fresh air, the scenery and the quiet.

When I moved here, the very first night, I couldn’t sleep, something was different, something was strange, something was missing. It was the noise. There wasn’t any. It was like the sidewalks were rolled up at night and the whole town slept. It was peaceful and quiet.

Even though the noise factor has elevated a little over the last 10 years, different groups of people moving in and out and the fact that the freeway is only a few blocks away from us, accidents do happen sometimes at night, it is still the most quiet place I have lived outside of Barre, Vermont. Still when I walk out one last time onto our front porch before I go to bed, I listen and I hear the quiet. Today I am thankful for the quiet.

Psalm 131:2 Surely I have composed and quieted my soul; Like a weaned child rests against his mother, My soul is like a weaned child within me.

DCIM100MEDIAJune 3, 2017 – Home

Many people are in the habit of referring to their city of birth as their home, where they are from. Others refer to the cities they have spent most of their life in. For example, I was born in Chicago, left there when I was five and moved to Colorado, left there when I was thirteen and moved to Cleveland, Ohio. For a large part of my life I claimed to be from Cleveland.

I lived 33 three years in Cleveland before I ever went anywhere else to live. I went to Tennessee once and lived there for six weeks, it was just too hard to find a good job there at the time. I went to Arizona for six months but had to move back because of the work situation there also.

It wasn’t until 1997 that I left Cleveland and stayed away for more than a few months. I spent one year in Vermont so Ken could spend time with his mother before she passed away from cancer. I lived in Florida for five years and loved it, but after Ken was gone, there was nothing left there for me. I moved back to Cleveland again, the place where I had spent the majority of my life.

As I have gotten older, I have come to realize that home is where the heart is, it is where you are the most comfortable, most at peace, where you are the happiest. I’ve been in this small community for ten years now. I will never return to Cleveland again as there is nothing there for me. This small country town is my home and my only regret is that I found it so late in life. While my true home is with Jesus, today I am thankful this is my earthly home.

John 14:3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.

oldman prayingJune 4, 2017- Getting Older

Ah, I have finally reached the top of the hill heading to old age. At least that is what a lot of people think. 65 is at the top and everything after that is downhill, old age. Although I don’t really feel like a senior citizen, I can feel the difference in my body as it ages the way we are meant to.

Many times I had thought if I had a chance, I would go back in time and change some of the mistakes I made, but when I really think about it, it was from those mistakes that I learned, that I became stronger and more wise.

While I wish a lot of things could have been different, I can clearly see how each level in my life brought me to a new level until I arrived where I am today. I am still am learning, increasing my knowledge, searching, researching and increasing in understanding of many things.

Life is one big huge lesson with little mini lessons that all lead to the main lesson you need to learn. It’s not about wealth, it’s not about increasing in popularity, friendships or climbing that ladder to the top at your place of work.

It’s about stepping back, looking at the immaterial, the spiritual, the love, the kindness along with taking notice of all the evil and less than humanistic events that happen around the world. It’s about opening your mind and heart to what Jesus died for, what he is, what he wants to be in your life.

While it has taken me many years, many, many tears and uncountable prayers to realize this, and while I had to learn some hard mini-lessons along the way, it was worth every day, month, year that it took in my life.

I used to be afraid of getting older, but now I see the advantages of it. Not only am I getting closer to being with Jesus and my loved ones who have already shed their earthly burdens, but I am still amassing a wealth of knowledge that I try to share whenever I can. Today I am thankful that I am no longer afraid of getting older.

Job 12:12Wisdom is with aged men, with long life is understanding

Leave a Reply

