Leave a comment

The Wind, The Past and Final Destination

lighteningJune 8, 2017 – The Wind

I’ve mentioned it several times before, I love nature, I love looking at the beauty created by God. I love to feel the warmth of the sun beating down on be when I walk in the spring, summer and fall. I love to look out over grassy meadows, bubbling streams and fields of hay. Standing under the shade of a large tree, looking up into the branches, there is a reverence felt from the age old trunk and limbs. There are even some trees around the world whose estimated age is over 1000 years.

I love watch the colorful butterflies wandering from bright flower to bright flower, sharing the job of pollination with the bees and ants. I enjoy watching all the birds that bless our deck with their presence; the doves, the many varieties of sparrows, the cardinals and blue-jays, the robins and the redheaded woodpecker that has started visiting I consider my little children and try to make sure I get their food out early in the day.

I stand on out on the porch and watch the lightening, hearing the thunder roll and watching the pouring rain as it falls in sheets, cleaning the air, the plants and the land. There is a power and freshness that cannot be duplicated by man no matter how hard he might try.

But the wind, think about the wind. The gentle breezes that ruffle your hair, the higher winds during a rain storm and the mighty wind of tornadoes, tsunamis and hurricanes show the mighty power of our lord. Winds that refresh, winds that spread seed and water and rain, and winds that can destroy and kill are reminders of the mighty power of God. Today I am thankful for the winds that remind me of the power of god.

Mark 4:39-41

And he awoke and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, “Peace! Be still!” And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm. He said to them, “Why are you so afraid? Have you still no faith?” And they were filled with great fear and said to one another, “Who then is this, that even the wind and the sea obey him?”

The_Last_supperJune 9, 2017 – The Past

You hear it all the time, “the past is the past, you can’t change the past” and “don’t dwell on the past”, however I believe that you shouldn’t completely forget the past, especially if you learned lessons from it. Dwelling on the past with a spirit of negativity isn’t a healthy thing to do, but looking for the lessons and the goodness that may have come at the end of that past will give you knowledge and strength for the future.

I’ve been through some very trying times in my life. Some people who have heard about my past have encouraged me to write about, to actually do a book on it, and eventually I may complete that, but before I could do that I had to actually face my past.

Over the years, I have looked at my past from different angles, so to speak. I had to look at the actual events that happened. Were they the result of mistakes I made or the actions of other people? Were there any lessons learned during these trying times and do I recognize what they were? Was I in control and could I have done something different that would have ended in better results?

Although there is a large chunk of my life that was horrible, I can clearly see that a lot of it was not my doing. Sure I made my own mistakes, but for the most part, a lot of my suffering was caused by other people, people who were users, abusers, manipulators.

For many years I thought I was being punished for some horrible sin I committed and I would look back to see if I could recognize what it possibly was. It wasn’t until I gave my life to Christ, that he opened my eyes and showed me that there was no punishment for a sin, but the evil of the world we live in and the evil people who prey on others.

He also showed me many lessons that I had learned, even though I didn’t recognize them at first. He laid out before me all the steps he took me through, all the different levels, each one leading to a different one up to where I am at today.

And even though my past was iffy, even though there was no love for many years, no caring people, I can see events that taught me something, and when it was time, the Lord moved me to another level. For a year before I received Jesus, I looked at my past bitterly. I didn’t want to let go of the pain, the deceitfulness, the danger or the abuse.

Today I look at in a different way. I look at the path I was brought along and I can draw on the lessons that I learned along the way. The past is the past and I can do nothing about it, but I can accept that now and I can deal with the memories without hate and thoughts of vengeance. Today I am thankful that the Lord has taught me a different way to look at the past.

Philippians 3:13-14 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

starry skiesJune 10, 2017 – Final Destination

How sad for people who believe there is no final destination. How empty they must feel when they believe that death is final, there is no hereafter, there is no heaven with a loving God. How do they face life every day, thinking that when they are gone from their earthly shell that they completely cease to be?

If only they would open their hearts and souls, if only they would listen to that gentle urging, that small voice that calls to them, that one that loves them and wants to wrap his love around them. But no, for the most part they cling to that material world, believing they must glean all that they can in what little time they have left.

How heart breaking it must be when they lie on a sick bed, receiving the news that their case is terminal and there is no hope of recovery. How very lonely and maybe even angry they must feel, with nothing in the future to hope for, no final destination for them to believe in.

Christianity has grown in leaps and bounds since the death of Christ. Each minute, each hour, each day many are finding that hope, that love, that realization that there is, in fact, a final destination, a final place where our souls will meet with others to worship and receive the love of our creator, a final destination where the cares of the world are no more upon our shoulders, where there is no pain, no sorrow, no hate, no evil and no illness. Today I am thankful that I know my final destination.

John 11:25 Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live

Leave a Reply

