Leave a comment

Accomplishments, Grand-Kids, Laughter and Research

awardJune 11, 2017 – Accomplishments

We strive hard during our lives to create a good life, to accomplish goals. We work hard in school because our parents expect it from us and our teachers tell us it will benefit us later in life, and basically you need that piece of paper to start opening the doors for you.

I loved my parents, don’t get me wrong, but my step-father and mother did me wrong. When I was working an after school job, they took my paycheck, telling me they were putting it away for me to go to college. When I was getting ready to move out of the house on my own and asked about the money, they told me it went toward my room and board.

What child has to pay room and board when they are in school, even if they are working a part time job? To make matters worse, after I discovered there was no money to even help me get into the City College, my step father knew all about student loans, where to get them and how to get the, but never told me one word about it.

As far as that goes, the people I met while working, a lot of them college graduates, lawyers, judges, police officers and business owners, many of whom knew I wanted to go to college, also knew about student loans and never told me.

It wasn’t until I was around 38, had finally gotten away from my abuser and went to my sister in Arizona that I found out about these loans. She was the one who told me. So, at 38 I went to a business college, never using anything I learned there, but having that paper started opening the doors for me.

While I never became a millionaire or a movie start, while I never got into politics or owned my own business, I strove to get to the point where I never had to depend on someone else to help me out. There were times in my younger life, when I had to depend on people for charity, but I wanted to be the one who could be charitable to others.

My mother had always said that I was fiercely independent and would accomplish whatever I set out in life, and while it took many years for me to find a way, I did accomplish the ability to take care of myself and several others during my life.

While things have slowed down, and I no longer work, I can look back and see that my accomplishments were brought about by many acts of God, putting me in the right place at the right time, or putting the right people in my path. Today I am thankful for the accomplishments he helped me to achieve.

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Jesus with children 2June 12, 2017 – Grand-kids

If you had asked me when I was in my 20’s and 30’s how I would feel about being a grandparent, I would have told you I was too young, but I was a grandmother at the ripe old age of 40. My son, throughout his life had two step children that he raised as his own and five others that he fathered.

Today through my one son and several step children I am the proud grandmother of 16, and one on the way, and the great grandmother of 2. Does that make me feel old? Maybe in some ways, but I find joy in talking to all of them whenever I can. They are all spread out in different states so I don’t see any of them often, but we still stay in close contact.

Sometimes I am a little jealous when I see other grand-parents with their grandchildren, but I think back to the years I have already had with mine and the love and communication we still have, and I’m not jealous anymore.

I realize that there are some I may never see again before I die, some I might only meet once, and others who I may never personally meet, but I have a relationship with all of them just the same. Today I am thankful for all my grandchildren and love them with an undying love.

Proverbs 17:6 Grandchildren are the crown of the elderly, and the pride of sons is their fathers.

laughterJune 13, 2017 – Laughter

There is an old adage that goes around, and depending on who is telling it, the numbers change. Some say it takes only 10 muscles to smile and 100 to frown and others say it takes 12 muscles and 11 to frown. Scientifically it has never been proven but we all know that a smile is more pleasing to look at than a frown.

It has been scientifically proven that stress takes a physical and mental toll on the body. When you are stressed or angry, your blood pressure rises. Some people tighten up their muscles, causing undue stress on their backs, arms, chest etc and others may experience headaches or increased heart rate, all of these which can lead to medical or physical problems.

Mentally and physically laughter is healthy for you. It reduces blood pressure, lessens the feelings of stress and anxiety, actually helps you retain a better memory, improves your immune system, and reduces pain. So, basically a good laugh a day keeps the doctor away!!!!!

I love to laugh. A good belly laugh or just some giggling with family and friends always makes me feel better, no matter what I have been going through that day. It helps me forget all the depressing and stressful thoughts I may be having. It helps me forget the pain in different areas of my body, and for awhile it helps me forget any problems that are on the horizon, yet unsolved. Today I am thankful that the good lord gave us the ability to laugh.

Psalm 126:2 Then our mouth was filled with laughter, and our tongue with shouts of joy; then they said among the nations, “The Lord has done great things for them.”

libraryJune 14, 2017 – Research

I have always loved to research. I did it for a living for eleven years. The company I worked for did background checks. We not only looked up criminal and civil records, but we also searched for work and education back grounds on individuals. I learned to look for details on records that were often missed by other researchers and agents. It was a learning experience and probably the most interesting job I ever had.

Some of my research was done on the internet and when I discovered the plethora of information there, I started researching things of interest to me. From how to eat healthy to how to grow your own vegetables, from how to make a rug to different home hacks that saved you money, there was no end to the information I found.

I research many other things also, including biblical history. We acquired some books from the thrift store at one time that were put out by Readers Digest. There were four or five of them. They were all about the biblical days; before Jesus, during Jesus time and after Jesus. We have read these books over several times and often I have taken notes on certain parts, gone to my computer and looked for more information.

These books not only told about what the bible says, but how the people lived, how they survived, how many different times their belief’s were changed, how many and who wrote different versions of the bibles. They told about wars that weren’t mention and the acts of some of the emperors and kings that you don’t find in the bible.

I also love to go to the library and check out books on different subjects. Most libraries, including our small town library have a computer system where you can look up information by author, title or subject. It makes it a whole lot quicker to find what you are looking for. I love to research and today I am thankful for different ways I can use to research the things that interest me.

Proverbs 1:5 Let the wise hear and increase in learning, and the one who understands obtain guidance

Leave a Reply

