Leave a comment

Positive Days, The Right Decision and Soul Maintenance

loveJuly 1, 2017 – Positive Days

We live in a world that is shaky to say the least. We have no certainty what each new day may bring. We wake up in the morning, hoping that our day will be a positive day, that everything will fall into place where it should, that everything will run smoothly from the time we awake until we lay down at night.

Life seemed so simple when I was young. I got up, went to school, came home, did my home work, spent some time with friends, had dinner, TV time if we had one and then bedtime to start the same routine over again.

I didn’t feel any peer pressure to take drugs, participate in harmful dares or follow what any open crowd was doing. Even though we were pretty poor, things were mainly peaceful and calm. My life was orderly and I liked it that way, but I grew up and moved away from home.

Our days are iffy to say the least. Although we have the normal infusions every 48 hours and monthly doctor appointments, we really don’t know how many times we may end up visiting the ER during the month. We have a small refrigerator so we probably have to refill on grocery items more than the average person.

For the last couple months, everything seems to have been in chaos. Rich got sick first and 12 days later I got sick. It took us over a month to get well, but during that time we were very sick and very tired. It took every effort we could make to get to the appointments and pick up groceries at the store.

I’m the type of person who, if given a choice, likes my life well ordered. I don’t like to let my housework suffer and there are projects I would love to work on, but lately there just hasn’t been time, it’s been hard to just keep up with the basics.

Things seem to be settling back down since we have healed and our schedule is getting back to normal with less ER visits and normal infusion days. When things are not stirred up, we usually have a day in-between infusions. We try to pick up what groceries we need on infusion days so we can have those days at home. I call these my positive days because we can actually stay home, relax, get a few things done. Today I am thankful for our positive days.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope

oldman prayingJuly 2, 2017 – The Right Decision

We make many decisions every day of our lives. We make some small ones, some medium size ones, some huge ones, some good ones and some bad ones. Some of the decisions we make are not always thought out because they have become habits for they are normal ones that need to be done on a daily basis, like going to work or taking the kids to school.

We quickly decide what we will wear, what we will eat, what we will buy and where we will go. It’s life and these decisions are normal almost every day of our lives. On a large scale, we may be faced with making decisions about buying a house, buying a car, changing jobs, changing churches or relocating and these decisions take more thought.

But there are some decisions that people never make. They keep putting them off, often times because they consider themselves too busy to be bothered at the moment or feel they have other, more important decisions to make. Maybe they aren’t sure or are even afraid of some of the decisions they should be making.

But what if you had to make a decision that would have the largest effect on your life. If it was a health decision, you wouldn’t hesitate to make the right decisions, so why is it so difficult for people to make a decision that can ensure their future for eternity? In 1993 I made the most important decision of my life. I decided to accept Jesus as my lord and Savior. Today I am thankful that God urged me to make the right decision.

John 14: 6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

eyeJuly 3, 2017 – Soul Maintenance

Every well working machine needs maintenance. Any building of any size needs maintenance. Even our gardens need maintenance as well as our lawns and yards. Maintenance may include oiling and replacing parts on machines, checking electrical outlets, plumbing, cleaning and repairs on buildings. To maintain our gardens we pull weeds, trim and water. To maintain our lawns and yards we prune, mow and rake.

Our bodies need a certain amount of maintenance also. We take baths to keep clean, brush our teeth, comb our hair Women shave their legs, men shave their faces. Many people exercise, run or walk and the body must be fed in order to keep functioning. Society has advanced enough to where many people are maintaining their health better by eating better, more natural and healthier foods.

But what about our soul. Shouldn’t we be doing some kind of maintenance on it? Shouldn’t we be cleaning, straightening up and feeding our souls? Shouldn’t we be feeding it good things while cleaning out old, worn out, negative thoughts and ideas? Shouldn’t we be exercising it also?

I used to go to bed worrying about everything from work to what my son was doing, from what I need from the grocery store to problems with the neighbors. I would toss and turn all night trying to figure out the problems for everyone I cared about as well as my own.

Eventually I developed a way to clean it out before I went to bed. I would picture my mind as a big, cluttered room with things thrown all over it. In the corner stood a broom and dust pan. In the middle of the room was a big box and a trash can. All the clutter, dirt, dust and cobwebs were the problems that were keeping me awake.

I would sweep up the dirt and dust and take down the cobwebs that represented all the chaos from the day, sweep it into a pile and put it in the trash can. Then I would start picking up the clutter, piece by piece, look at it and if I didn’t have an immediate solution in mind, I would put it in the box, if I knew what needed to be done I would set it off in the corner to be taken care of the next day. Usually I would doze off in the middle of cleaning.

When I became a Christian, I started doing the maintenance a different way. I would take all the thoughts, all the feelings I had from negative events during the day and throw them in the trash can. Then I would start picking up the clutter. What I could take care of on my own I would set against the wall, what I couldn’t I would hand to the person sitting in the middle of the room, Jesus. Then I would feed my mind with positive thoughts and the word of God. Today I am thankful he directed me on my soul maintenance.

Philippians 4: 8 Finally brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.

Leave a Reply

