Leave a comment

It Feels Like Fall, People to Love, People Who Love Me, and No Pain

the four seasonsJuly 26, 2017 – It Feels Like Fall

Our weather has been somewhat weird for several years. There are times I can walk out on the front porch and it seems more like fall than summer, then the next day it’s back up in the 90’s. I remember the first year I lived in Butler, there was plenty of snow that winter, now, the last couple years, we have had more rain than snow, in fact for the last two years we had snow for one day and the threat of an ice storm that we never got.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind milder weather, but it seems like the seasons are going to extremes one way or another. This summer was extremely hot, especially in June and July and then August which is usually the hottest month of the year is mild, more like fall than summer.

Leaves are already falling off the trees and birds and animals are changing their habits. Winter may be coming early, however the monthly predictions show us having temperatures ranging from high 79’s to mid 80’s until the middle of October.

Wet winters are especially rough on my joints, with osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis and chronic migraines I am a walking, talking barometer. I can pretty accurately forecast the weather day by day during the Winter time just by how I feel.

June and July were almost unbearably hot and humid that today I am thankful that it feels like fall.

Genesis 8:22″While the earth remains, Seedtime and harvest, And cold and heat, And summer and winter, And day and night Shall not cease.”

loveJuly 27, 2017 – People to Love

For a good part of my life, I wasn’t sure what love was. I knew that there some people I liked being around more than others, and some who like being around me, but there were a lot of “users” in my life that tolerated or just put up with me for what they might gain, financial help, babysitter, housekeeper or punching bag.

When I finally turned back to God, I saw things change very rapidly in my life, and when I look back to where I was compared to where I am today, I can definitely see the levels I went through, the lessons I learned and the journey he brought me through to where I am today.

Because of my past, for a long time, I didn’t know how to love. I loved my son, but even looking back I don’t think I was capable of loving him the way I should have because I didn’t know love. Torn from my mother when I was 7, and looking back I don’t see where any love was really shown by her or my dad.

Don’t get me wrong, I did love my mom but she was removed from my life when I was 7 and I didn’t know her anymore when we went home from the foster homes. I got to spend 5 years with her before she was gone again and then I never got to see her anymore. During that time, we did develop a stronger bond, but I don’t think she knew how to show or accept love either.

I didn’t know how to love people until I completely accepted Christ and then I found that I was capable of loving so many, so deeply, it was a whole new experience with me. Today I have people around me that I love, and many people scattered across the country that I love. Today I am thankful for people to love.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away

heartsJuly 28, 2017 – People Who Love Me

I’ve mentioned before that in y earlier years, I didn’t experience much love, I wasn’t even sure what love felt like. Over the years, since I gave myself to Jesus, I have learned to love and therefore have also learned a lot about heartbreak. My sisters and I were separated for many years after we became adults. I didn’t see one of them for 33 years and the other was away from me for 18 years.

Since 1993, when I gave my heart to Jesus he has put so many people in my life that have genuinely loved me. When I married Ken, I learned even more about what it means to love someone and to have them love you. When I started living with my grandchildren, watching them be born and bonding with them in the early years, I found out what unconditional love felt like.

Today I am amazed at the friends and relatives that I have around me. It seems like my family just continues to grow, not just with relatives and friends but with many brothers and sisters in Christ who truly do love me.

Today I am so thankful to have so many people who love me.

Romans 13:8 Owe no one anything, except to love each other, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law.

laughterJuly 29, 2017 – No Pain

I know so many people who suffer from chronic pain. From the minute they get up in the morning until they go to bed at night, they hurt. Some of them are often awakened in the middle of the night with these chronic pain conditions.

Several of them have gone from being very active to being in an almost crippled state because of the pain they feel. Some of them became addicted to drugs because of the large doses of pain killers they took to try and ease that pain.

I have several conditions that cause pain. On most days there is usually something that hurts, my head, my feet, my back, my shoulders or other areas of my body. Some of the pain is caused by the different diseases I suffer like Chronic Migraines, Osteoarthritis, Rheumatoid Arthritis, or gout. Unfortunately some of the medications I take can cause an increase in the migraines.

I already suffer from PTSD and depression. The depression often gets worse when I go for several days without a break in the pain, but oh, the days when I wake up without pain, it is like I entered a new life for a small period of time. Today I am thankful for the days that I have no pain.

Romans 8:17-18 And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God’s glory. But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering. Yet what we suffer now is nothing compared to the glory he will reveal to us later

Leave a Reply

